User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Fault code 0340 Cam sensor malfunction

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Fault code 0340 Cam sensor malfunction

    Hi, last month I replaced my timing belt on my 1.8 petrol SRI. I noticed that the wiring harness to the cam sensor was perished so I replaced the sensor. I now get an intermitent 0340 cam sensor fault code, the engine runs at 4000rpm max. I clear the code and the engine runs fine till next time the code appears. Anyone got any ideas.

  2. #2
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    EVERYWHERE
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    "I noticed that the wiring harness to the cam sensor was perished so I replaced the sensor."

    Maybe the sensor isn't the problem.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    any ideas Diesel? could it be the belt tension?

  4. #4
    Regular Member DaveW555's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Cannock
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Why change the sensor if the wiring was perished? I'd unplug the senor and check all the wires where you say its perished to see if its rubbed through on anything, could be as simple as re wrapping the wires up with some insulation tape (clean them all first with some electrical contact cleaner / brake cleaner or the like), did you use a genuine sensor as some of the aftermarket ones tend to be a bit poo?

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Used a genuine Vaux Sensor, only started happening when I changed the Timing Belt. I'm going to check the Timing is Bob on once the rain stops. I'm beginning to wonder whether the belt tension is to tight. Clutching at straws though.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Pretoria
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    My 1.9 cdti Astra has the same fault code, changed the sensor yesterday but no change in the problem.

  7. #7
    Regular Member DaveW555's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Cannock
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by otto View Post
    Used a genuine Vaux Sensor, only started happening when I changed the Timing Belt. I'm going to check the Timing is Bob on once the rain stops. I'm beginning to wonder whether the belt tension is to tight. Clutching at straws though.
    The belt tension wont give u that problem and if it wasn't timed up right it wouldn't run right or even at all, deffo think its either the cam sensor wiring or maybe you've got too big a gap between the sensor and the timing wheel.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    pottersbar
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i have same problem since changing sensor .wiring perished on old sensor but was running ok now want rev above 4000 rpm

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Swindon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Check for rust on the cam shaft sprocket itself, had this before and was because of this.

    Frenchman

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Found out the sensor was not a genuine part. After double checking all my timing marks and tension etc, opted for a genuine Sensor, hey presto fault cured. Spoke with a few diagnostic fellas each one said use genuine sensors only in future.
    Lesson learned cheapest is not always the best.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Fault Code P1125 for both 1.9 CDTI's - Throttle Position Sensor
    By GazVXLINE170 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 25th August 2013, 17:54
  2. MAP sensor fault code
    By cus2000 in forum Vectra C / Signum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th August 2012, 08:22
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24th June 2012, 02:11
  4. p0480 fault code cooling fan 1 circuit malfunction
    By Miketwinny in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19th July 2011, 22:31
  5. p0337 fault code crank sensor position a low>
    By rickyroo in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th May 2008, 12:20

Visitors found this page by searching for:

insignia 1.8 petrol camshaft sensor

astra 1.9cdti cam sensor error after timing belt done help

vectra 1.9 cdti camshaft sensor fault

faulty camshaft sensor vectra c

vectra 1.9 cdti cam sensor fault

0340 astra fault code

vauxhall vectra 1.9cdti camshaft sensor fault

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •