User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Is there an ipod ready factory headunit?

  1. #1
    Regular Member Nato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Risca, South Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Is there an ipod ready factory headunit?

    I've just been given an ipod touch for my birthday, and would like to be able to use it in the car with the car stereo. However, my CDR2005 is not ipod compatible. Is there a factory headunit for the Vectra that you can connect the ipod to and control from the steering controls? I vaguely remember seeing a thread not so long back about a double DIN headunit that had onboard satnav, tv, dvd, and ipod connectivity, but I think this was an aftermarket unit. Can anyone shed some light on the options available to me? I don't want to go down the single DIN aftermarket headunit route.

  2. #2
    Regular Member Critch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    57 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Mk1 renault scenic... I know I know but it drives

    Trim : Basic

    Engine : 1.6 16v

    Year : 2003

    Default

    not sure if it works on the veccy but ive got a vxmmi in my astra. have sat nav, bluetooth, dvd player, and you can control your ipod from the stereo. but it is aftermarket but lookes OE.

  3. #3
    Regular Member Nato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Risca, South Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CritchvxD View Post
    not sure if it works on the veccy but ive got a vxmmi in my astra. have sat nav, bluetooth, dvd player, and you can control your ipod from the stereo. but it is aftermarket but lookes OE.
    Any more info on this unit fella? Pics, prices etc?

  4. #4
    Regular Member Critch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    57 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Mk1 renault scenic... I know I know but it drives

    Trim : Basic

    Engine : 1.6 16v

    Year : 2003

    Default

    http://www.ttints.co.uk/store/index....show&ref=vxmmi

    it doesnt mention vectra on there website. but if you want a drive then you more than welcome to try mine out

  5. #5
    Ex-Staff Full Member John LE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Forfar, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Facelift Insignia/Corsa D

    Trim : LE/VXR

    Engine : 2.0 cdti/1.6 Turbo

    Year : 13/07

    Default

    Problem is, that headunit is for full can bus cars and yours having the cdr2005 means it's half can bus (completly different wiring)

    You may have to look towards a parrot kit etc

  6. #6
    Regular Member Nato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Risca, South Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by john.robertson2 View Post
    Problem is, that headunit is for full can bus cars and yours having the cdr2005 means it's half can bus (completly different wiring)

    You may have to look towards a parrot kit etc
    I'm guessing things like the parrot are an add on kit rather than a replacement head unit then? I'll have a browse around and have a look at a few bits and pieces.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Nato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Risca, South Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I bought one of those FM transmitters for now. Seems to do the trick at the moment, but it is quite awkward to get the cradle in the right place as it's connected to the power supply. It'll do for the time being though.

  8. #8
    Regular Member neilshaw1980's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    coventry
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats






  9. #9
    Regular Member hairy31's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    bradford
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    been looking at these myself as i have the cd70 and would like to upgrade.....but, not sure on the quality, would love to see one fitted and working tho

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    south ockendon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    that unit looks the same as a ttints headunit, but for about half the price

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Ipod to Factory Headunit? possible?
    By Kev_G in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th June 2011, 11:59
  2. Adding a sub and amp to factory headunit
    By turbo2.0 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th August 2008, 00:10
  3. iPod & factory fit stereo?
    By Adam in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th July 2007, 17:04
  4. running amp on factory headunit
    By Kam B in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19th February 2007, 09:31
  5. factory headunit question....
    By Harry in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 30th August 2005, 21:28

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •