User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: dashboard dead (no rev, speedo, lights)

  1. #1
    Regular Member Swatty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    greenock
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default dashboard dead (no rev, speedo, lights)

    Hi, could someone confirm the fuse (and location) that covers the dashboard on an 03 GSi. Did a search and fuse 17 was mentioned but I don't have a fuse 17 in either the rear (in boot) or front (passenger side under bonnet) fuse boxes. Driving on the trip computer and GPS at the moment

    Or any other source of the problem

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Could be the cim but check the abs plug is secure and clean.
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  3. #3
    Regular Member Swatty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    greenock
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I think you may be right Big Sig about the CIM, I was checking ESP light issues a while ago that indicated a poss CIM problem (said it needed re-aligned) - I hoped it was just needing re-set/aligned using TECH2 but it could have been an early indication of it falling over.

    When you say ABS plug I take it that is the plug that goes into ABS unit?

  4. #4
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yeah the mulit core cable with the big plug on it. I believe Rushy has had some success in the past by unplugging it, give it all a good clean and putting it back. Always worth a try when it's a possible free fix
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  5. #5
    Regular Member Swatty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    greenock
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big Sig View Post
    Yeah the mulit core cable with the big plug on it. I believe Rushy has had some success in the past by unplugging it, give it all a good clean and putting it back. Always worth a try when it's a possible free fix
    Tried it but no joy

    Just been to uncle arnold as with all the coding etc. I suspect it will be a dealer only job. There are two CIM options, the more common one is £139 plus vat and the other one is much dearer. With labour it looks like costing me just over £220 (assuming I have the more common one).

    I'm not sure if it was the whole job or just the CIM but £280 was mention for the other type of CIM - I think the the shock at the price made my mind try and ignore it.

    Has anyone had the CIM replaced in an 03 GSi.

    As a side note - they need the car pass as well to do the job (which thankfully I have)

  6. #6
    Regular Member Jezzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    S.E
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I think fuse 17 for the instruments is in the fusebox at the end of the dashboard (N/S), not the one under the bonnet.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Swatty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    greenock
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jezzy View Post
    I think fuse 17 for the instruments is in the fusebox at the end of the dashboard (N/S), not the one under the bonnet.
    Will give that a try now

  8. #8
    Regular Member Jezzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    S.E
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Also check fuse 26 - same fusebox.

  9. #9
    Regular Member Swatty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    greenock
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jezzy View Post
    I think fuse 17 for the instruments is in the fusebox at the end of the dashboard (N/S), not the one under the bonnet.
    WoooooooooooHoooooooooooooo, thanks Jezzy for pointing out the fuse box, forgot about that one.

    All sorted, fuse was fine, took 17 out cleaned and put back in and everything back to normal.

    Many TAs great site or what

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    merseyside
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    thats awesome.I have had the exact same thing go wrong with mine.followed your advice and it has worked a treat.thanks

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Dashboard dead help!!!!!
    By goooba769 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 14th July 2012, 20:48
  2. Dead dashboard.
    By Bob Acid in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd July 2011, 16:29
  3. Dashboard Lights
    By acedaz in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th January 2009, 22:57
  4. Speedo playing dead again ...
    By omega2498 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 23rd February 2008, 01:56
  5. Dead speedo and rev counter
    By omega2498 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th March 2007, 00:18

Visitors found this page by searching for:

https:www.vectra-c.comforumshowthread.php112090-dashboard-dead-(no-rev-speedo-lights)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •