User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Is it possible for Sub/Amp with standard CD?

  1. #1
    Regular Member danlat1415's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lancashire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Is it possible for Sub/Amp with standard CD?

    I've got the standard 4 Disc, Sat Nav Vauxhall Stereo, and was wondering if it's possible to connect up a Sub and Amp to it?
    I know there is no connection at back, but I remember reading a post somewhere that someone managed to rewire the loom to get it done?

    I've fitted dosens of stereos on other cars, and rewired looms for standard stereo fittings, so with a little advice, I'm sure this shouldn't be too hard.

    Thanks guys.

  2. #2
    Regular Member The Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    'Norf Yorks.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yep tap an Autoleads PCA-12 off the top of my head into the back of the headunit on L+R of the rear outputs for speakers. Get it as close to headunit as you can do

  3. #3
    Regular Member ALD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    South Lanarkshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    yes m8, I have a powered sub in my boot, its wired in to the back speakers, which results in a small loss of power but not even noticable to me

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    SOMERSET
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes it can be done, have a look at this thread......


    http://www.vectra-c.com/forum/showthread.php?t=9759

  5. #5
    On a Sabbatical VauxVeteran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nicking Ya Dinner.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Does your one skip at all? home made discs?

  6. #6
    Regular Member danlat1415's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lancashire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes, I've had a few 'home made' CDs that jump a lot. It's to do qith the dye that is used on them. The standard stereo doesn't have a brilliant lasor to read them. The better quality discs you get, the less they will jump.
    I've bought some 'DataWrite Titanium' blank discs which were recommended by a friend becuase they use a very good quality dye, and I've found they hardly ever skip.

    'Home made' CDs will hardly ever skip in aftermarket CD systems, just the standard vauxhall stereos which don't seem to use quality parts.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Spikey©'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    In the sponge-monkey tent
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by danlat1415
    Yes, I've had a few 'home made' CDs that jump a lot. It's to do qith the dye that is used on them. The standard stereo doesn't have a brilliant lasor to read them. The better quality discs you get, the less they will jump.
    I've bought some 'DataWrite Titanium' blank discs which were recommended by a friend becuase they use a very good quality dye, and I've found they hardly ever skip.

    'Home made' CDs will hardly ever skip in aftermarket CD systems, just the standard vauxhall stereos which don't seem to use quality parts.
    A spot on assessment there mate, I found my factory HU skipped on all sorts of media including high quality Taiyo Yuden discs, these are read nicely by my Clarion HU now. Buy the cheapest discs you can find at your peril! You also find with some cheap discs that there may be a rough edge around the circumference, according to some reports this can upset the balance of the disc similar to tyre balancing, this can throw the laser off if it's quite bad.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    South East
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Burn them no more then 8 speed and I've found them not to skip, but the same disc's burnt @ over 16 speed jump on the first 4 songs.

    Slow down!!!!!!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. standard setup on sxi, standard or sri?
    By taffy bhoy in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 5th November 2012, 02:30
  2. Can you re map a standard car
    By hamish123 in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 6th February 2011, 14:51
  3. my standard sri
    By jpdtm in forum Quick Photo Album
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27th June 2010, 00:27
  4. My almost entirely standard 1.8 SXi
    By MuteJoe in forum Quick Photo Album
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 22nd June 2008, 22:49
  5. standard bhp?
    By amar in forum Petrol Engine related
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 9th April 2008, 19:32

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •