User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 43

Thread: Signum 3Ltr cdti goes into limp home mode

  1. #1
    Regular Member kev666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    North West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Signum 3Ltr cdti goes into limp home mode

    Hi guys,
    It has been a LONG time since i posted on here but here goes.
    Had the Signum for around 3yrs+ now and all has been fine.
    My local Vauxhall dealer has serviced the car at the specified schedules, although they are a right bunch of T***s down there. Always very off and dont give a T*ss sort of attitude? I can only imagine that this is because i wont be fobbed off, and had a right run in with there service manager after they did the cambelt and service together just after Xmas. They didnt secure the undertray properly and it dropped down and got smashed to bits. Service manager tried to blame me and said it wasnt needed and they took it off completely. All without even consulting me. Anyway that is all another story.

    A week ago i was on my way home after going up the motorway and back into normal town driving. I had the radio on and whilst creeping upto a roundabout in traffic the car/spanner symbol came on on the dash. No power and i suspected limp home mode. Parked up at the shops there, switched off and locked up. Came back from the shops and it had cleared.

    On my way back from Lancaster last night, same thing. After being on the motorway I was back to urban driving and waiting in traffic at the lights. Light came on dash and limp home mode again. Managed to get home as i was only 5mins away. Turned her off and locked it up. Left her for 10 mins and when i fired it up it was clear again. Drove to work this morning (approx 25miles, 50% 50% urban and motorway) all is fine and no problem.

    I am a bit reluctant to go back to vauxhall and this fault REALLY concerns me. No warranty and i certainly cant afford any 1K bills. I would chop the car in right now if i could afford to but...........

    What would your thoughts be about this fault??

    The car does have a tuning box fitted, which is being removed when i get home. Are there any common causes of such behaviour??

    I look forward to any help as it is worrying me to death at the mo

    Regards

    Kev
    Last edited by kev666; 24th May 2010 at 10:08.

  2. #2
    Full Member merikiito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Northampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia CDTi SRi NAV 160

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : A20DTH

    Year : 2009

    Mileage : 88000

    Default

    Run it without the tuning box. IMHO I would never use a tuning box as I prefer a remap instead.
    See what happens once you take off the box
    Lois Griffin: Peter! You're bribing your daughter with a car?
    Peter Griffin: Ah, c'mon, Lois, isn't 'bribe' just another word for 'love'?

  3. #3
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Mine did it a couple of times, gave a map sensor fault but it just seemed to go away after a while.

    Really without the fault codes it could be a number of things.
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  4. #4
    Regular Member kev666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    North West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Ok on the drive home it did it again. Again it was in the urban low speed driving at low revs. Just about to take the tuning box off to see how it goes.
    Is there a good fault code reader on the market these days OR a way to read the codes etc?
    Its been a while since i had to get under the hood. I am a rusty mech these days
    Just haven't had the time, but now i have

    Regards

    Kev

    PS i found these guys TalkToMyCar

  5. #5
    Regular Member kev666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    North West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Bit of an update:

    Removed the tuning box and the fault had cleared. Went for a drive and within 1mile the car/ spanner came up in the center of the dash. That flickered and went off and then an engine light came on on the right side of the dash. Parked up and switched off for 10mins, then fired her up. Car is now running fine again but the engine symbol is still on the right side of dash permanent so i took her home.

    Looks like i have no choice now but a trip to the dealer first thing in the morning

    That is unless anyone can recommend anyone that is a good garage rather than M******d Motors Blackpool?

    Cheers

    Kev

  6. #6
    Regular Member BigLad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    30,000ft by day, bed at night
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Don't know if it will help but have you disconnected your battery for 15-20 mins to reset the ECU after taking the tuning box off? Might be worth a try.

  7. #7
    Regular Member m8internet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cumbernauld, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kev666 View Post
    they did the cambelt and service together just after Xmas. They didnt secure the undertray properly and it dropped down and got smashed to bits. Service manager tried to blame me and said it wasnt needed and they took it off completely. All without even consulting me
    As far as I am aware the dealership has to refit parts exactly as they were fitted when the vehicle was presented, unless those parts are found to be faulty or damaged
    I would have gone to town on them, to supply and fit a replacement undertray (the subsequent damage was a result of their neglegence)

    Therefore, avoid this dealership
    Phone others and ask how much they would charge for a TEC2 diagnosis and what their labour rate is
    It might cost you some extra money in getting to/from this alternative
    Equally, look for something locally to keep you entertained (my "local" has a cinema nearby, but this dealership is not nearest to me)

  8. #8
    Regular Member Celes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Slovenia, Koper
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Opel Signum

    Trim : Sport

    Engine : 3.0 CDTI

    Year : 12/03

    Default

    Sounds like an EGR fault to me. I still have one home if you have a prefacelift
    Try the pedal trick to get a fault code or get the car Tech2'd.

  9. #9
    Regular Member kev666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    North West
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Ok disconected the battery for an hour and still the engine light to the right of dash is illuminated. Car runs fine though.

    @ Celes I do have a pre facelift as it is a 2003

    What do i need to do to try the pedal trick? I know i have read about that somewhere but cant find it now

    Regards

    kev

    Its ok i just found the peddal trick and a list of codes here
    Last edited by kev666; 25th May 2010 at 11:53.

  10. #10
    Regular Member m8internet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cumbernauld, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I tried the pedal trick on my 2005MY, it doesn't work
    I removed the MAF sensor so that EMS warning light came on and retried it, nothing
    I was later advised it won't work on any of the Y30DT as the main ECU is specific to this engine

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th June 2012, 13:36
  2. limp home mode
    By trickster75 in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 18th July 2010, 16:58
  3. Signum 1.9 CDTi limp mode
    By doublek500 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th June 2010, 22:26
  4. limp home mode
    By fig in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th January 2010, 23:18

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •