User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Vaux-Com / Op-Com question - Screen change question

  1. #1
    Regular Member AntSSSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Middlesex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra Estate

    Trim : SRI

    Engine : CDTI 150 (Z19 DTH)

    Year : 2008

    Mileage : 100k

    Default Vaux-Com / Op-Com question - Screen change question

    Hi,

    Question for you Vaux-Com / Op-Com experts, users, or even just clever folk!

    Been playing with Vaux-Com to see what it can do etc..

    Is it possible to change a display screen using Vaux-Com / Op-Com?

    I have a CDC40 Opera, and I know that you need to divorce the screen from the car and then with another divorced screen, marry it to the car..

    ..but can you do this with Vaux/Op-Com?

    Cheers guys

    Anthony
    Last edited by AntSSSS; 16th May 2010 at 20:15.

  2. #2
    Regular Member AntSSSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Middlesex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra Estate

    Trim : SRI

    Engine : CDTI 150 (Z19 DTH)

    Year : 2008

    Mileage : 100k

    Default

    or thinking about it - is it just the stero itself that need divorcing and marrying?? are the screens just plug and play??

  3. #3
    Full Member Niall83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Belfast
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    what do you want to change? Not 100% but the screen and radio are married together.

  4. #4
    Regular Member AntSSSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Middlesex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra Estate

    Trim : SRI

    Engine : CDTI 150 (Z19 DTH)

    Year : 2008

    Mileage : 100k

    Default

    My GID screen has a perminant mark on it - like dead pixels, so just want to change the screen like for like.

    Cheers

  5. #5
    Regular Member kman247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    milton keynes
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AntSSSS View Post
    My GID screen has a perminant mark on it - like dead pixels, so just want to change the screen like for like.

    Cheers

    No need for any software to do this mate , all you need to do is swap the lcd , relatively simple , shout me if you need a hand. You can even use a screen from a half canbus to sort yours.

  6. #6
    Full Member Niall83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Belfast
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    if the sreen comes from another car i think it needs to be divorced from it first and them married to yours with tech2. I could be wrong but sure someone knows for sure

  7. #7
    Regular Member kman247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    milton keynes
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Niall83 View Post
    if the sreen comes from another car i think it needs to be divorced from it first and them married to yours with tech2. I could be wrong but sure someone knows for sure

    Not required if you are just doing a LCD exchange.

  8. #8
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    That is true,
    I did this on mine recently, when my GID started to get strange swirly marks on it, where some of the pixels were going belly up.

    I got another GID from fleabay and stripped the LCD bit out of the front and swapped them over.

    No screws within the actual display to undo, just a little white 2 pin plug for the illuniation, and two little flat ribbon cables for the pixel control.

    Took about 5 mins to do...also don't panic if the innards look different, the lcd and led assembly will simply transfer across and fit nicely.
    My duff one was an early 2005 screen, and my good one is a 2008 screen...both code DD.

    So do as kman says, just swap the LCD bit, much less hassle than all that programming guff.

  9. #9
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    Not quite a how 2, but this is how you strip out the LCD panel fromthe GID.

    For all you led colour changing types out there, here is a little tip.

    If you get a GID with the code DD (full can pre-facelift), then it has about 39 SMD LED's to change.

    The one in the photos is a full CAN GID - Code BK, which has only 10 LED's to change.
    If you are upgrading to GID from TID, then go for the BK if you wish to change the display colour from the standard orangey / yellow.
    Cheaper and easier.

    Back to stripping

    Pic 1 = Use a blunt instrument to unclip the back from the GID surround

    Pic 2 = Here is the insides of the GID, pre-facelift innards look different but will fit facelift shells.

    Pic 3 = Unplug the two pin connector and the two ribbon cables

    Pic 4 = Connectors unplugged

    Pic 5 = Unclip PCB and remove from shell (yellow arrows show location of SMD LED's)

    Pic 6 = remove light diffuser from shell complete with the LCD panel.

    Pic 7 = Now remove LCD panel from diffuser - just unclips.

    Now simply reverse this to rebuild...for the sake of this thread, ensure you put the working LCD panel into you existing GID assembly.
    Last edited by Robsey; 16th May 2010 at 23:56.

  10. #10
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    and

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. another GID screen question (last one i promise lol)
    By taffy bhoy in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11th December 2011, 19:12
  2. Information screen question
    By MARKPRIOR in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th January 2011, 09:57
  3. Nav Screen Question
    By JamieD27 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 1st October 2010, 07:23
  4. A question regarding cd30 screen
    By SRI-RICH in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th May 2010, 20:53
  5. A quick non-vaux techie question (pug 307)
    By Faz in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 5th July 2007, 00:05

Visitors found this page by searching for:

change vectra screen in opcom to opel

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •