User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: clock change

  1. #1
    Regular Member the fisherman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default clock change

    my clocks have leaked so there for need to change them so there normal again,my clocks are cdti ones with 2 little windows in the dials,do i need to get the correct clocks that look the same?and do they need to be prgrammed in?also how do i get the miles put to what mine are on my clocks if its legal to do so?

  2. #2
    Regular Member mhvcbv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    cambs
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    the clocks will need to be tech2'd
    they can put the correct milage on if the clocks are new.

  3. #3
    Regular Member the fisherman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    cheers m8 just need to find someone now who can do this for me

  4. #4
    Full Member plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    346 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    set of refurbed clocks from vauxhall are approx £150 i believe.. Ed Taylor had his exchanged and I programmed them in, but hopefully someone more local to manchester can do them for you.. You can get someone to do a 'mileage correction' on a set of 2nd hand clocks but you'd need to get someone with the necessary gear to do it. They normally charge a fee of £100 anyho.. plus your 2nd hand clocks on fleabay probably £40-50 quid?.. In my reckoning your not saving anything over the Vx refurbed ones..
    Plasma's Tech2 services are now open and able to provide services

  5. #5
    Ex Vec-C Admin ed taylor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Looking Through a Camera Lens.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 04

    Mileage : 000

    Default


  6. #6
    Regular Member the fisherman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by plasma View Post
    set of refurbed clocks from vauxhall are approx £150 i believe.. Ed Taylor had his exchanged and I programmed them in, but hopefully someone more local to manchester can do them for you.. You can get someone to do a 'mileage correction' on a set of 2nd hand clocks but you'd need to get someone with the necessary gear to do it. They normally charge a fee of £100 anyho.. plus your 2nd hand clocks on fleabay probably £40-50 quid?.. In my reckoning your not saving anything over the Vx refurbed ones..
    so if i bought a second hand set they need miles doing and a tech 2 is needed to isent it?

  7. #7
    Ex Vec-C Admin ed taylor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Looking Through a Camera Lens.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 04

    Mileage : 000

    Default

    If my memory is correct. You are stuck with what mileage is on the secondhand set. Only new ones can be re-set to the current mileage of the car.
    I don,t think you need any Tech 2 if you fit second hand ones, as it will display the mileage that is "currently" in the second hand set. Not what is still in the ECU memory.

  8. #8
    Regular Member the fisherman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    people seem to think here they need to be tech2 and miles can be corrected if second hand clocks,now im puzzled as you state they cannot be corrected the miles

  9. #9
    Ex Vec-C Admin ed taylor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Looking Through a Camera Lens.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 04

    Mileage : 000

    Default

    I don,t think Tech 2 can correct the miles on a secondhand set. But Tech 2 can put the cars mileage in a "new set".
    One of these mileage correction companies might be able to change the mileage on a secondhand set perhaps.
    When, Plasma and I changed the clocks on mine. We had to Double check and make sure we were going to put the correct mileage into them, as Plasma said if we do it wrong I am stuck with the incorrect mileage we put in.

  10. #10
    Full Member plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    346 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    As per pm's only way to alter the mileage is with 'additional eprom programmers which write directly to the eprom of the clock'.. This normally involves a strip down of the clock and eprom removing and programming and then refitting... Tech2 cannot do this and never will be able to... Hope this clears it up.

    Ony brand new or refurbed clocks it can set it to anything you want, but only on 'virgin' clocks
    Plasma's Tech2 services are now open and able to provide services

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. standard LCD clock color change?
    By MURDO in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 23rd April 2012, 20:18
  2. For Sale: Speedo clock Vauxhall Vectra with ilumination color change as Insignia
    By CristianTM in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19th February 2012, 20:18
  3. How do you set the clock
    By SRI_STU in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 6th February 2012, 20:19
  4. Gt5 ps3 clock change
    By mattv6diesel in forum Games Room
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31st March 2011, 18:41
  5. clock change
    By d8mof in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st March 2011, 22:39

Visitors found this page by searching for:

will changing my clocks in vectra alter the millage

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •