User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Power cable to amp, easy to route?

  1. #1
    Regular Member sdnatlst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Power cable to amp, easy to route?

    How easy is it on the vecs to route a power cable from the battery to the boot for an amp? most go through a gromet in the glove box just wondering if the vectra was the same and how easy it was to access? might tackle it tonight!

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    LEEDS
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    really easy! all unclips easily but be carfull not to snap the clips as that will cause annoying vibrations!

  3. #3
    Regular Member sdnatlst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    What unclips easily mate? there a gromet in the glovebox yeah? have i got to take the glovebox off to see it?

  4. #4
    Ex Vec-C Admin Ian-Highlander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ely, Cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    58 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia Tourer

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI (160ps)

    Year : 2010

    Default

    Take the glove box out, there's a large rubber grommet in the firewall behind it, you can run the power cable from the battery through that grommet and then down the side of the car inside the existing cable tray. There's a few pics in my ICE thread of it, but at the moment my server appears to be down, so check page 12 of my thread in a bit and hopefully it should be self explanatory once the pics come back.
    "Doing a good job here is like wetting your pants in a dark suit, you get a warm feeling but nobody else notices"
    Maptun Tuned 2.0T Estate - click HERE for mods list.
    Brentwood 2012: Winner, Saturday Show. Hull 2012: Winner, Best Estate. Hull 2013: Winner, Best Estate & Runner Up, Best I.C.E

    Now Gone, bring on the Insignia (now "Teapot" Tuned)...

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    LEEDS
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    yes you'll have to take glove box out, i stabbed a screwdriver through gromet to get the cable through. the clips are on the pieces of trim you'll have to remove to run the power cable through to the boot.

  6. #6
    Regular Member sdnatlst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Cool no problem ive had all the kick panels and wiring racks undone before just needed to know where the gromet was !, cheers

  7. #7
    Ex Vec-C Admin Ian-Highlander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ely, Cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    58 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia Tourer

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI (160ps)

    Year : 2010

    Default

    Sorry, it's page 11 and I've sent an email to the support guys for my hosting so the pics should be back up soon.

    Edit: just seen your post, ignore this then
    "Doing a good job here is like wetting your pants in a dark suit, you get a warm feeling but nobody else notices"
    Maptun Tuned 2.0T Estate - click HERE for mods list.
    Brentwood 2012: Winner, Saturday Show. Hull 2012: Winner, Best Estate. Hull 2013: Winner, Best Estate & Runner Up, Best I.C.E

    Now Gone, bring on the Insignia (now "Teapot" Tuned)...

  8. #8
    Regular Member sdnatlst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Cheers Ian im sure i will need your help with something along the way so ill be over stevenage im sure haha.

    Ive made my side panel out of MDF, its only a rough one though and cut out the sub hole, im going to carpet it and mount everything on it tonight.

    My double din radio turns up tomorrow! so just trying to get things sorted..

  9. #9
    Ex Vec-C Admin Ian-Highlander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ely, Cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    58 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia Tourer

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI (160ps)

    Year : 2010

    Default

    Heh, I decided last week, I'm going to rip all mine out and start again, had a much nicer design spring into my mind for the boot layout the other week, so going to re-do the whole lot
    "Doing a good job here is like wetting your pants in a dark suit, you get a warm feeling but nobody else notices"
    Maptun Tuned 2.0T Estate - click HERE for mods list.
    Brentwood 2012: Winner, Saturday Show. Hull 2012: Winner, Best Estate. Hull 2013: Winner, Best Estate & Runner Up, Best I.C.E

    Now Gone, bring on the Insignia (now "Teapot" Tuned)...

  10. #10
    Regular Member sdnatlst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    nice, more work!!

    I only want a small boot build, just something to give a little punch so my one sub setup in the sidewall will be fine for my needs!, went for a Vibe space 2, 12".
    1000watts rms into 1 ohm. with the vibe slick a7, 1300watts rms into 1 ohm.

    should be okay!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Amp power cable
    By vermiculus-daemon in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th October 2012, 15:55
  2. AMP power cable trough motorhood??
    By vectralex in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25th April 2010, 13:57
  3. Sky Box, Scart, Power Cable and Remote
    By Matt&Jemz in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31st March 2010, 19:45
  4. how easy is it to chanhe handbrake cable, anyone done it?
    By signum03 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 21st August 2009, 19:22
  5. power & cable poliser ( PC )
    By ian_c in forum Detailing and Car Care Discussion
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 18th March 2006, 14:03

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c amp power cable

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •