User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: Wiring up a Snooper

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    N E Somerset
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Wiring up a Snooper

    If I wanted to wire my Snooper up using the lead supplied (i.e. with just two bare wires at one end) instead of using the accessory socket connection lead e.g. running it down from the right side of the instrument binnacle where would I be able to (easily) connect the cable into?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Ex Vec-C Admin ed taylor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Looking Through a Camera Lens.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 04

    Mileage : 000

    Default

    Would it reach the accesory soket, maybe you could connect it to the back of that, or even the ignition switch, I am not sure what the colours of the wires you would need to conect to though, but it would only need to be live when the ignition is on, some one will put us right though.

  3. #3
    Regular Member vectra 2.0 t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    tasmania
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    ignition switch is no good,as it is canbus

    either tap into ciggy socket or if you have the telephone pre wired socket behind the glove box

  4. #4
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    if i was doing it, i'd wire it into the back of the ciggy lighter to get switched 12V.. the only other place that CANBUS may let you draw 12V without getting a fault light is from the glovebox bulb as i don't think that will flag a faultcode..I don't think you can draw 12V from the ignition switch like you used to be able to do, or the light switch, I think CANBUS was the end of that practice..How about behind the stereo?? BenH will be the man to ask as he fits all that kind of stuff for a living..drop him a pm

  5. #5
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : SRi


    Engine : Z22SE (2.2 Petrol)

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 137000

    Default

    You can take out the grill for the 7th speaker in the dash the run the wire behind the dash. I would tap into the cig lighter as I have done with my Parrot kit, but thats cos I dont know of another point

  6. #6
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If you're positioning it on the right hand side of the dashboard then the easiest place is from one of the wires going into the headlight switch. You'll find an ignition switched and a permanent live there.

    Just drop the wires down the side of the dash (pop off the A pillar trim for the easiest access) and you can drop the cable right down behind the headlight switch.

    You'll end up with a very neat install and practically no wires showing.

    D

  7. #7
    Regular Member vectra 2.0 t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    tasmania
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Duncan
    If you're positioning it on the right hand side of the dashboard then the easiest place is from one of the wires going into the headlight switch. You'll find an ignition switched and a permanent live there.

    Just drop the wires down the side of the dash (pop off the A pillar trim for the easiest access) and you can drop the cable right down behind the headlight switch.

    You'll end up with a very neat install and practically no wires showing.

    D
    i thought that you ran yours from the ciggy socket duncan

  8. #8
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder GARY3306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ashington, Northumberland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You can take a feed straight off the back of the light switch loom. That is where I have my ignition feed for my satnav from. You can take the switch out as a whole unit by pushing the light switch in (it is under quite strong spring pressure) and turning clockwise whilst holding it in. The whole unit will then just come out of the dash. If you want any more I'll go out and do it with some piccies if you want.
    [SIGPIC]VX<font color=Red>R</font> with added Courtenay <img src=https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.png border=0 alt= title=Big Grin class=inlineimg />

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    N E Somerset
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Pics would be great if it's not too much trouble (showing the detail of the wiring as well). Don't want to break anything.

    Cheers

  10. #10
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder GARY3306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ashington, Northumberland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Push switch in

    Whilst holding in, turn to sidelight position

    Pull complete switch out

    Black wire is ignition feed (ignore red wire and scotchlock no. 2, that is for my satnav feed)

    I have a seperate earth to the bodywork for the satnav. You can do the same for your snooper. Hope that helps.
    [SIGPIC]VX<font color=Red>R</font> with added Courtenay <img src=https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.png border=0 alt= title=Big Grin class=inlineimg />

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. snooper
    By chrosty in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 4th February 2011, 22:58
  2. is there a snooper that????
    By dannyjpuk in forum General Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21st April 2010, 19:26
  3. Snooper S1
    By bigmac in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th May 2009, 16:08
  4. Anybody have a Snooper S2
    By deanos in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 24th October 2007, 23:15
  5. Snooper S4
    By suj786 in forum General Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12th December 2005, 11:19

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c side light wire colour

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •