User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Quadlock Extension Loom or ISO2Car loom

  1. #1
    Regular Member DanR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Hampshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia 2.0 CDTI Ecoflex

    Trim : Elite Nav

    Engine : A20DTH


    Default Quadlock Extension Loom or ISO2Car loom

    Hi Guys,

    After much deliberation if have decided to keep my CD70 and connect my ipod and sub/amp into it.


    The plan is to:
    • Use a Connects2 IPLUGRDS unit to pass the ipod signal in through the aerial connector on the CD70; this is an FM Modulator that has the capability to pass track name information to the headunit using RDS,
    • Tap into the front speaker cables and use a line level to RCA converter to give an input for my amplifier via a low pass filter set at 125Hz
    • Incorporate a capacitor into the positive line for each of the factory fit speakers to block low frequencies - probably going to block at 500Hz as there is a 6dB per decade rolloff using this method so I'll see -6dB at 250Hz and -12dB at 125Hz.
    However to achieve this is going to require a fair amount of butchering to the cars radio loom - plus if I am soldering and heatshrinking with the cables in situ I'll more than likely melt trim!

    So my question is this; can I get a quadlock extension loom (male to female with the pins wired directly together, i.e. pin 1 on the male side to pin 1 on the female side) as I can't seem to find such a beast.

    Alternatively if I were to get an ISO2Car loom and connect the male & female ISO blocks together would this give me (in effect) an extension loom?

    Thanks for reading

    Dan

  2. #2
    Regular Member DanR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Hampshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia 2.0 CDTI Ecoflex

    Trim : Elite Nav

    Engine : A20DTH


    Default Quadlock Extension Loom or ISO2Car loom - Updated

    Hi Guys,

    I ended up taking the plunge and buying an ISO2Car loom from EBay.

    The pins are indeed connected to the same pins at each end so I have now constructed my intermediate loom and once my Diploma assignments are out of the way I can crack on with the install to see if it works as it should!

    If all goes according to plan there may be a how 2 to follow.


    Dan

  3. #3
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    The only problem you will find, is that because the ISO2KAR loom is fully populated, it is quite bulky and hard to get it all in behind the radio on re-assembly.

    With your extra connection pieces (black plastic / rubber coated barrels), space will be even more tight.

    I used one of these to adapt my CD70 to fit my Cavalier.

  4. #4
    Regular Member DanR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Hampshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia 2.0 CDTI Ecoflex

    Trim : Elite Nav

    Engine : A20DTH


    Default

    May have to resort to brute force & ignorance to get the headunit back in then .

    I did take the opportunity to remove the
    unnecessary cables and also lop a few inches out of the loom so I'm hoping it'll go - then of course I'm hoping that it'll work!

  5. #5
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    247 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    nope, quite easy to get back in.. Same as a fully populated parrot loom... You can pull the original quadlock out of the back and have that to the left of the cage in the little space there is there (glovebox out helps a lot) then connect the new loom and route that back into the rear of the cage. job done
    Plasma's Tech2 services are now partially open and able to provide services



    Come Join our new forum Insignia Owners.com for all your Insignia chat and needs

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Rubbish basic Loom to higher spec loom?
    By redraptor_141 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 5th May 2009, 21:58
  2. what loom do I have
    By gallag in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22nd June 2008, 10:40
  3. A Loom
    By Damian in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 5th November 2007, 12:52
  4. Loom pic
    By freks in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 4th May 2007, 20:39

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •