User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34

Thread: CD70 Sat Nav question.

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    In a house
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default CD70 Sat Nav question.

    Hi guys, got a question regarding the installation of the CD70 sat nav unit and screen.
    I have a 07 SRi estate and would like to fit the above, question is, if I did manage to get a hold of the equipment, once fitted would I be able to view all of the none satellite related information (Temp,etc,etc) on the screen that I would have been able to had the unit been factory fitted.
    Also what exactly would I need to fit the unit as it would have been originally. (Leads, etc)

    Regards,
    Saxman.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I am pretty sure you will be able to, yes.

    I have the CD70 and the board computer on it is more comprehensive than the other displays.

    You will need a fakra aerial:

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/SAT-NAV-GPS-AN...ht_2826wt_1166

    And an RGB cable (about £50 from vauxhall), this goes between the headunit and screen. You may or may not have this with what's being sold.

  3. #3
    Regular Member Maverick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Leicester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If you get the colour screen, CD70 unit, the lead as described above, and a cheap GSP arial off ebay, againm as described above, you should be able to get it all in and the full Sat Nav working correctly.

    It does need to be configured with Tech 2. It has been done on Astra H many times. However, there is a stumbling block, the colour screen and CD70 head unit needs to be 'divorced' from the car it is coming out of, this means that the security code has to be zeroed from the donar car.

    If not it just ends up being an expensive peice of plastic.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Maverick, the divorcing is not necessary if the screen and headunit are obtained as a pair. Also, you usually avoid the need for any tech2 this way.

  5. #5
    Full Member Caveman_nige's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    South Coast
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra and a Signum

    Trim : top of the line in both

    Engine : Z18XE,Z19DTH,Z20NET

    Year : 2006

    Default

    mine came alive once the cd70 was fitted.. other than the trip computer etc, i had aircon and blower controls that i did not have before.. its worthwhile upgrade in my book

    i took out a cd30 and put in the cd70 without tech 2 as the screen and headunit were a pair, job done in under half an hour..
    My old Signum, the animal; she now rests in pieces in several other members cars.. https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/garag...vehicle&id=200
    The wifes vec show car, started as a standard daily driver and ended up like this. https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/garag...vehicle&id=709



  6. #6
    VIP-Member MCD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Romiley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : 2007 Vectra

    Trim : SRi XP Saphirre Black

    Engine : 2.0 16v Turbo

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 60k

    Default

    When i did mine on my old vec, what i found is that with the after market ariel it wasnt as accurate, it would tell you the junction turning a 100yards after youd passed it etc.

    I later fitted a genuine ariel, which was really easy! The hardest part was linking in the rear windscreen jet wash. But once connected, it was far more accurate!

    More interestingly, mine was never divorced from the donor car! Just the matching screen and head unit and connecting lead from the said car was taken... and it all worked perfect, and instantly!

    Mike


    Noobtune 220bhp / 270lb - (07) 2.0 turbo SRi XP NAV - PLUS SUNROOF!

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    In a house
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Ok guys thanks for the replies, just One more question, would I have to get the headunit and screen from a certain year onward to fit my motor (07 reg SRi estate) or would a headunit and screen from any year be compatible,

    Regards,
    Saxman.

  8. #8
    Regular Member Maverick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Leicester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stampede View Post
    Maverick, the divorcing is not necessary if the screen and headunit are obtained as a pair. Also, you usually avoid the need for any tech2 this way.
    The CD70 unit is coded to the car, and so is the screen. They may work as a pair, but they are still paired to the donar car.

  9. #9
    Full Member Caveman_nige's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    South Coast
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra and a Signum

    Trim : top of the line in both

    Engine : Z18XE,Z19DTH,Z20NET

    Year : 2006

    Default

    my cd70 and screen was taken out of a scrapper without tech2...
    My old Signum, the animal; she now rests in pieces in several other members cars.. https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/garag...vehicle&id=200
    The wifes vec show car, started as a standard daily driver and ended up like this. https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/garag...vehicle&id=709



  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Maverick View Post
    The CD70 unit is coded to the car, and so is the screen. They may work as a pair, but they are still paired to the donar car.
    They are not paired to the car, they are paired to each other.

    You can have any code you like in both of them, as long as they have the same code you're fine.

    The fact that Vauxhall have chosen to make the 4-digit security code fr other modules the same as the radio code from the factory has no bearing on anything.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Cd70 question
    By chrisvectra in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 15th February 2012, 01:36
  2. Another CD70 question
    By dholbon in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 2nd August 2011, 20:47
  3. cd70 question
    By mr bh in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 1st June 2010, 21:23
  4. cd70 question
    By davidlewis24 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 27th December 2009, 20:26
  5. CD70 ID3 Tag Question
    By AndySkinner in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 29th May 2007, 08:24

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •