User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: ECU Remap Failure - Car Won't Start - Stuck!!

  1. #1
    vectra_sri_failure
    Guest

    Default ECU Remap Failure - Car Won't Start - Stuck!!

    Well being a numpty I opted for the 'at home' convenience of remapping my car which has gone horribly wrong.

    I won't say who the remap company is because I'm hoping a call to them tomorrow will sort all of this out but it's my fault for doing this out of hours at work!!!

    Anyway, car was read successfully, I saw my VIN - engine number etc etc and then chose my map. Wrote successfully to the device, connected it to the car - all went well flashing happily then WAM, started flashing a red light. I left it for the required time and nothing - connected to PC and it said failed reflash (duh!).

    So, tried again and it wouldn't write. So, started fresh and now it won't even read my ecu details just starts then flashes red again!

    Has this happened to anyone and I'm hoping it's not completely fubar'd!

    My car won't start and I've tried d/c the battery and nothing still fails to read ecu now.

    I also have F Miles on my readout!

    If anyone is doing a remap at home I would hold off if I were you!!

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    West
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Sounds like you may have spiked the ecu

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Surrey
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dh.dti View Post
    Sounds like you may have spiked the ecu
    Oooopps,that will be costly

  4. #4
    Regular Member Maverick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Leicester
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Vectra C management should not be messed with unless you know what you are doing. Some tuners sometimes have trouble writing to Vectra C.

    You very well may need a new ECU.

  5. #5
    Forum Moderator John LE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Forfar, Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Not sure if the OP maybe means a BSR PPC or a Superchips Bluefin type device

  6. #6
    vectra_sri_failure
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by john.robertson2 View Post
    Not sure if the OP maybe means a BSR PPC or a Superchips Bluefin type device
    Exactly! I've looked around and I think I can get a repair file for my car so will ring the place that sold me it tomorrow and I've also emailed the manufacturer of the device too.

    Failing that a trip to VX may be required for them to re-flash it if possible....

    How much is a new ECU if worst comes? Please?

  7. #7
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    142 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    142 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    About £600 or so
    Plasma's Tech2 services are now partially open and able to provide services



    Come Join our new forum Insignia Owners.com for all your Insignia chat and needs

  8. #8
    vectra_sri_failure
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by plasma View Post
    About £600 or so
    Well here's hoping that it's not going to be fubared!

    Is there a vaux-com / opcom legit device that can put me back on an ECU standard map?

    Failing my IPF device being able to do it.

    I've got the carpass and everything etc

  9. #9
    Regular Member Ian S100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Southport
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I don't think the BSR PPC ever gives a choice of maps, the appropriate map is supplied with the PPC unit & if it isn't compatible the existing map is copied to the PPC, sent to BSR over the net & a suitably modified map returned to be loaded back onto the car - does the Bluefin give a choice of maps? I'm fairly sure the Regal IPF gives tuning options


    edit - guess it is the IPF then!!

  10. #10
    vectra_sri_failure
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian S100 View Post
    I don't think the BSR PPC ever gives a choice of maps, the appropriate map is supplied with the PPC unit & if it isn't compatible the existing map is copied to the PPC, sent to BSR over the net & a suitably modified map returned to be loaded back onto the car - does the Bluefin give a choice of maps? I'm fairly sure the Regal IPF gives tuning options


    edit - guess it is the IPF then!!
    Wooooops!

    Yeah it is! Lol.

    Just got to sleep on it tonight, not a lot I can do till tomorrow as car is at work stuck in the carpark!

    Hoping that I can get it back up with a forced standard map with my security code etc

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Failure to start
    By dunc2610 in forum Y & Z30DT Specific
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 29th October 2012, 14:37
  2. 2.0t remap from remap science bradford
    By stefan7153 in forum Petrol Engine related
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 4th May 2011, 22:03
  3. Swirl Flap Stuck or Not Stuck ??
    By nibblitz in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 3rd November 2010, 17:57
  4. Cars dead. Won't start. Fan runs when it would start.
    By baz_rochdale in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th September 2010, 22:34
  5. HELP, stuck on A14 18:55 12.05.09
    By chrisf70 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 15th June 2009, 16:28

Visitors found this page by searching for:

car wont start after remap

vectra c wont start remapping

backup vin ecu ipf

ipf tune vectra backup

remap car wont start

z30dt wont take remap

ipf unit failed to flash now car wont start

tractor wont start after remap

vectra c remap not start

vectra c 1.9 remap wont start

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •