User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Remap tuning box

  1. #1
    Full Member hothatch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Nottingham, emec#7
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Remap tuning box

    Hi Everyone,

    I'm looking at buying a remap tuning box for my CDTI 150 SRI, just wondering which tuning box to go for as there is so many out there, i like to find one with selective modes.
    And would it be easy to install and change to different mode settings.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    sheffield
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    hi, just bought a second hand dtuk green tunning box for my cdti 150 sri (06 ) i tryed it first before i paid for it, as it only takes 1 min to fit. car picks up better and feels quicker ( not had it on rollers yet ) i am happy with results. plus i can sell it on again when i change cars ( money back ) you could try it on yours ,if you lived closer. it does have different settings . loads on flebay..................

  3. #3
    Full Member hothatch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Nottingham, emec#7
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cranny 27 View Post
    hi, just bought a second hand dtuk green tunning box for my cdti 150 sri (06 ) i tryed it first before i paid for it, as it only takes 1 min to fit. car picks up better and feels quicker ( not had it on rollers yet ) i am happy with results. plus i can sell it on again when i change cars ( money back ) you could try it on yours ,if you lived closer. it does have different settings . loads on flebay..................
    Hi, how does fit into the car for programming, does it plug in to the socket underneath the ashtray?

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Doncaster
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hothatch View Post
    Hi, how does fit into the car for programming, does it plug in to the socket underneath the ashtray?
    A tuning box usually plugs in under the bonnet, you disconnect the cable from the ECU, plug it into the box and then connect a cable from the box back into the ECU.

    The tuning box then sends different signals to the ECU causing the car to be faster / use more fuel etc.

    Pretty quick to install but it's the remap that you remove the ciggy tray for.

  5. #5
    Regular Member m111kan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Liverpool & Norfolk
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    ive got a DTUK ECO3 in mine also. 2 mins to fit & makes hell of a difference. made up with it

    also, yes its easy to adjust......but i wouldnt bother, only ever tried turnin mine up once & hardly saw a difference so ive just kept it as it came

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    bournemouth
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I have a secound hand second hand dtuk green tunning box if ur interested mate send me a pm

  7. #7
    Full Member hothatch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Nottingham, emec#7
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nickabbott2008 View Post
    A tuning box usually plugs in under the bonnet, you disconnect the cable from the ECU, plug it into the box and then connect a cable from the box back into the ECU.

    The tuning box then sends different signals to the ECU causing the car to be faster / use more fuel etc.

    Pretty quick to install but it's the remap that you remove the ciggy tray for.
    So what is the difference between a remap and a tuning box, does the tuning box stay connected to the ecu all the time while it is in use. I heard you use a tuning box plug it in to the ecu to give the ecu new instructions, and once the new instructions are downloaded you remove the box.

  8. #8
    Regular Member john_k_sri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Waterloo, Liverpool
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hothatch View Post
    So what is the difference between a remap and a tuning box, does the tuning box stay connected to the ecu all the time while it is in use. I heard you use a tuning box plug it in to the ecu to give the ecu new instructions, and once the new instructions are downloaded you remove the box.
    Tuning box is connected to the fuel rail and increases fuelling without the ECU being aware of the fact.

    A remap overwrites the ECU which has parameters for settings including fuelling rate and a lot more besides, and the remap changes these for as long as it is installed via the diagnostic socket under the ashtray.

    AFAIK, most tuning boxes are not intelligent and do not communicate with the ECU in any shape or form.

  9. #9
    Full Member hothatch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Nottingham, emec#7
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by john_k_sri View Post
    Tuning box is connected to the fuel rail and increases fuelling without the ECU being aware of the fact.

    A remap overwrites the ECU which has parameters for settings including fuelling rate and a lot more besides, and the remap changes these for as long as it is installed via the diagnostic socket under the ashtray.

    AFAIK, most tuning boxes are not intelligent and do not communicate with the ECU in any shape or form.
    Ok thanks, guess it will be a remap i will need, guess i got confused with the tuning box and a remap lol. Thought remap and tuning box was the same thing but just new way of doing it, i don't fancy installing a box under my bonnet, just want to program my ecu and remove the programming system. So what remap system could you recommend?

  10. #10
    Regular Member john_k_sri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Waterloo, Liverpool
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Personally I would recommend BSR, as I've used them, but at £550 it's not cheap, but it is the real deal , and you can take it off and put it back on as much as you like. There are loads of others such as EDS, Regal, Superchips, Thorney to name but a few. Some go for generic (engine-specific) remaps like BSR, and others go for a custom remap. Do a search on 'remap' or look in the Diesel Tuning Section. You should then find all you need to know there.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Can you run a tuning box & remap together?
    By swifty_53 in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd January 2012, 23:05
  2. Remap vs tuning box - FAQ
    By zafira in forum General Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th January 2011, 14:47
  3. REMAP vs Tuning Box
    By Blingbloh in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 143
    Last Post: 7th January 2011, 12:20
  4. Remap or tuning box
    By Johnytuono in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12th January 2007, 16:59
  5. ReMap and Tuning box?
    By nutron in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12th March 2006, 02:34

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •