Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Thumbs up Thorney 2.0T Remap - Stage 1

Hi

Got to Thorney yesterday morning. All went fine with their stage 1 map, they had a couple of insignia vxrs there on the rolling road, and some focus rs's. Looks like they are doing tuning options for fords now...i think...as they had one up on the rolling road, and i know ill be shot for saying this, but the R.S sounded so much better than the Insignia VXR, maybe more work is due, but they did the RS first and then their Stage 2 Siggy VXR. RS just sounded imense!....Anyway, back to the map

The map is excellent, im a total newbie to tuning etc, but, my feelings and views on the car i can only describe from my first experience. Normal mode is a lot smoother, with a more linear smoother power delivery, with a lot more mid and high end torque

In sport mode, this thing is an animal, but still gets the power down really well. Steering is harder, as well as the ride, but very firm at the same time when cornering (Milton Keynes round abouts helped a lot ).

Cruising at 70 in 6th still pulls really well when i needed to over take on the way back.

It feels really really safe. For a stage 1 map, it is excellent. Thorney did had a bit of trouble writing to my car, but with the help from Superchips, all went fine.

Great service, and a really great map!!

They have a stage 2, no price yet (TMS Race exaust and Map), and have LSD options as well as brake and wheel upgrades progressing.

John shared a note that their own Insignia VXR-R is in the works, their own stage 2 is running at about 360bhp atm

The engine itself seems a lot more solid, pulling off from a stand still is a lot smoother, and the turbo kicks in at about 2600rpm, it was earlier before. But, getting used to it over time. My driving will have to adapt, but no major changes.