User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: External Temperatuee Gauge

  1. #1
    Regular Member Vectra_Wilky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default External Temperatuee Gauge

    Hope I've posted this is the correct section.

    Got my Vectra this morning, so far I'm really impressed with it. The only thing is, the external temperature gauge is blatantly wrong. The display works fine but it was reading -28 in Skipton this morning. Can anybody point me in the direction of the thermometer, so I can replace it. Alternatively, is the porblem likely to be caused by anything else?

    Also, there's an exclamation mark displayed on the small display within the rev counter. I'm guessing I need to get it hooked up to a tech2 to get the fault code read? Or is there any other way of sorting it out?

    Thanks in advance, so far the site has been really useful, I've picked up loads of little tips

  2. #2
    Ex Vec-C Admin ed taylor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Looking Through a Camera Lens.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 04

    Mileage : 000

    Default

    The temprature sensor is located in the grill at the front in the middle at the bottom ( when viewed from above, with the bonnet open).

  3. #3
    Regular Member Rapala's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Clackmannanshire Central Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    The ! in the display could be part of the graphic that comes up if you have a bulb out or a fault with the tyre pressure monitoring system if it is fitted to your car. Is it just an exclamation mark or is there more showing in the display

  4. #4
    Regular Member Vectra_Wilky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks Ed. I'll have a look 2moro and get a new one ordered. I quite like the feature.

    Thanks Rapala, thought it was just the !, but after looking at it again it does look like its surrounded by a light bulb. I'll investigate which bulb is out 2moro, as there aren't any other lights on.

    Great forum, really fast responses

  5. #5
    Regular Member Ademusic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dunstable
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Welcome to the site mate, need to stick a piccie of your car on here for us to see!

  6. #6
    Regular Member Caveman_nige's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    South Coast
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra and a Signum

    Trim : top of the line in both

    Engine : Z18XE,Z19DTH,Z20NET

    Year : 2006

    Default

    i bought a replacement temp sensor from ebay for about a quid..

    to replace it you have to get to it from behind the grille though.. jack the car up and get on your back under the nearside and you will be able to reach your hand in and unclip the old one.. Its a little fiddly but only takes a few minutes...

  7. #7
    Regular Member Vectra_Wilky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks for the info Caveman Nige, know what I'm doing now. I'll get one bought and sort it out. Be a new experience having to jack a car up to get underneath it, could just roll under on my Shogun.

    It needs a good clean up and some decent weather, then I'll take some photos and post them up

  8. #8
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    Hmmmm,
    On my Vectra-C, I just open the bonnet....
    Go to the centre of the slam panel, and look down between the radiator and the front grill.

    The plug should be easily accessible from above, just squeeze the three tangs around the probe body, and it will pull out of the panel.
    Last edited by Robsey; 21st March 2010 at 02:28.

  9. #9
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vectra_Wilky View Post
    Thanks Ed. I'll have a look 2moro and get a new one ordered. I quite like the feature.

    Thanks Rapala, thought it was just the !, but after looking at it again it does look like its surrounded by a light bulb. I'll investigate which bulb is out 2moro, as there aren't any other lights on.
    Great forum, really fast responses
    Double check them all and pay close attention to the brake lights as the vectra will use another lamp if a bulb blows - natty little safety feature
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  10. #10
    Ex-Staff Full Member John LE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Forfar, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Facelift Insignia/Corsa D

    Trim : LE/VXR

    Engine : 2.0 cdti/1.6 Turbo

    Year : 13/07

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Robsey View Post
    Hmmmm,
    On my Vectra-C, I just open the bonnet....
    Go to the centre of the slam panel, and look down between the radiator and the front grill.

    The plug should be easily accessible from above, just squeeze the three tangs around the probe body, and it will pull out of the panel.
    Take it yours is a pre-face robsey, the facelift has a grill in the way

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. External temperature Gauge
    By keith1983 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 27th January 2013, 12:37
  2. rev counter/speedo/temp gauge/fuel gauge stopped working
    By bloodworm in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 19th July 2009, 00:28
  3. External Drive
    By spennny in forum General Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 7th April 2009, 15:23
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th September 2008, 23:18
  5. Tom Tom external antena
    By SteveH in forum General Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 16th August 2007, 21:10

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •