User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: Who's fitted a new headunit?

  1. #1
    Regular Member TonyJames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    northants
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Who's fitted a new headunit?

    Just wondering if it works when the engine is off and key is turned to 1 or 2 position.

    My new kenwood single din wont work unless the engines running,mines 04 plate which is the half canbus type.

    Read somewhere on here about wiring power from the cig lighter to the stereo? not really clued up on this sort of thing.Anyone help who's got similar set up to me?

  2. #2
    North West Regional Organiser paulvectrac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    morecambe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    36 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vectra

    Trim : vxr

    Engine : 2.8 v6 turbo

    Year : 2007

    Default

    swap the red and yellow wires over mate have you got a proper harness for it
    Vectra vxr custome remaps egr deletes dpf and diagnostic work all remaps are custome bench tuning avalible all genuine equipment PM for info

  3. #3
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    sounds like you have the switched and permanent lives the wrong way round.
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  4. #4
    Regular Member i5aces's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    andover
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default


    i have a aftermarket unit and only turns off when the key is removed,
    but i did have to swap the red and yellow cables

  5. #5
    Regular Member TonyJames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    northants
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks guys,i'm not too good at car electrics but i've took a picture of the vauxhall connector and the 1 on the back of my new stereo doesn't look like theres enough pins in the plug of my new stereo?







    I've got 4 pins on the new stereo connector:
    yellow-battery
    blue/white-powercontrol
    red-ignition
    black-earth
    Last edited by TonyJames; 13th March 2010 at 10:44.

  6. #6
    Regular Member SRimonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    wednesfield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    yeah there`s enuff pins,just pull out the red and yellow and swap them over or cut and rejoin them

  7. #7
    Regular Member TonyJames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    northants
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    It only seems to work when engine is running- this is going straight from car to stereo with red/yellow crossed, also it cuts out when i turn the steering wheel i know the pas uses a lot of juice but the original stereo was fine with this?

    Also i've tried autoleads PC99-X06 in between car and stereo and same result

    and with PC2-04-4 it only works engine running (yellow/red not crossed)
    nothing with yellow red crossed

    After doing more research i think maybe i might need PC99-X45?

  8. #8
    Regular Member Ian S100's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Southport
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If you have a full CanBus car the radio will only work when the ignition is on because switching of the OE radio is part of the Can system - you can buy CanBus adaptors which should reinstate Can switching but they cost £100+

    I don't know how the half CanBus radios switch though

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    swansea
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    My Kenwood on full canbus '55 facelift, works with key in ignition as per the original. Didn't have to swap any wires.

  10. #10
    Regular Member TonyJames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    northants
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks for the info just wish my half canbus was as simple!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. New Headunit Fitted
    By scotty84 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 16th December 2011, 00:09
  2. has anyone fitted a VCMMI headunit ?
    By Dre in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 28th September 2011, 20:38
  3. Anyone fitted one? VX dvd headunit (ebay)
    By scotty84 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 29th June 2011, 12:28
  4. New Headunit Fitted
    By bigboynigs in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 27th September 2009, 18:18
  5. New headunit fitted
    By falco in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 20th December 2007, 17:26

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •