User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Retro fitting a CD70 upgrade from CD30

  1. #1
    Regular Member Steven T Davies-Moss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    shropshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Retro fitting a CD70 upgrade from CD30

    I am buying a CD70 but it has no cables with the sale

    what are my chances of anyone havin the cables spare... none probably .. but dont ask and u dont get told NO

    anyway ... if anyone can advise .... if i can get them or if i am able to obtain them from GM ??

    What cables do i need ?? ... appart from the sat nav aerial

    Thank you

    Tim

  2. #2
    VIP-Member Caveman_nige's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    South Coast
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra and a Signum

    Trim : top of the line in both

    Engine : Z18XE,Z19DTH,Z20NET

    Year : 2006

    Default

    you should only need the rgb cable (only available from vx - See pic below) that connects the headunit to the screen which allows the maps to be displayed, the gps antennae (blue connection) as you are probably aware can be substituted with a Fakra gps antennae from ebay for about a tenner... the cable that connects the headunit to the car is the same so is the connection for the GID and CID screens...

    RGB cable


    Back of CD70



    Fakra gps antennae (I have a spare one of these if your interested)
    My old Signum, the animal; she now rests in pieces in several other members cars.. https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/garag...vehicle&id=200
    The wifes vec show car, started as a standard daily driver and ended up like this. https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/garag...vehicle&id=709



  3. #3
    Regular Member Steven T Davies-Moss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    shropshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Caveman_nige View Post
    you should only need the rgb cable (only available from vx - See pic below) that connects the headunit to the screen which allows the maps to be displayed, the gps antennae (blue connection) as you are probably aware can be substituted with a Fakra gps antennae from ebay for about a tenner... the cable that connects the headunit to the car is the same so is the connection for the GID and CID screens...
    Fakra gps antennae (I have a spare one of these if your interested)
    Ur a star ... de-stressed me in one message. Ill order the RGB cable from GM then... few

    And iv got a spare sat nav aerial from my old tomtom.. i guess that will fit ?

    and that the power supply is the same .. Buzzin

    If i can now pick this CD70 up tomorrow im laughing.. been offered one for £250

    Thank you so much

    Tim

    P>S .. how did u get the Aerial cable down the back of the dash ?
    Last edited by Steven T Davies-Moss; 10th March 2010 at 20:53.

  4. #4
    VIP-Member Caveman_nige's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    South Coast
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra and a Signum

    Trim : top of the line in both

    Engine : Z18XE,Z19DTH,Z20NET

    Year : 2006

    Default

    what screen are you attaching it to... from what i remember the cd70 does not need to be 'divorced' from car by tech2 neither does the CD30 but the screens and headunits are 'married' by tech2.. therefore in my understanding you will need the screen that was connected to the headunit if it or you will need to have somebody with a tech2 machine 'divorce' your CD30 from its GID screen and then 'marry' your CD70 to that screen...

    I could be wrong on this but i would seek clarification before you part with your dosh..

    btw i bought my cd70 of the bay with the rgb cable and the colour CID screen with its plastic surround for just under £300.... be careful not to spend too much as sometimes they can be priced to high..
    My old Signum, the animal; she now rests in pieces in several other members cars.. https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/garag...vehicle&id=200
    The wifes vec show car, started as a standard daily driver and ended up like this. https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/garag...vehicle&id=709



  5. #5
    Regular Member Steven T Davies-Moss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    shropshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Caveman_nige View Post
    what screen are you attaching it to... from what i remember the cd70 does not need to be 'divorced' from car by tech2

    btw i bought my cd70 of the bay with the rgb cable and the colour CID screen with its plastic surround for just under £300.... be careful not to spend too much as sometimes they can be priced to high..
    .................................................. ................................................

    The screen is coming with it and so is already linked. Ill remove my old screen and CD30 and flog em

  6. #6
    VIP-Member Caveman_nige's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    South Coast
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra and a Signum

    Trim : top of the line in both

    Engine : Z18XE,Z19DTH,Z20NET

    Year : 2006

    Default

    cool.. then its a straight forward plug and play, when you get the rgb cable you can then play with the navi function... when i took out my CD30 i found a proper vx gps antennae cable already behind it just waiting for a CD70... pop yours out and have a look you may get a nice surprise..
    My old Signum, the animal; she now rests in pieces in several other members cars.. https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/garag...vehicle&id=200
    The wifes vec show car, started as a standard daily driver and ended up like this. https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/garag...vehicle&id=709



  7. #7
    Regular Member frasedeb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    hull
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Steven T Davies-Moss View Post
    .................................................. ................................................

    The screen is coming with it and so is already linked. Ill remove my old screen and CD30 and flog em
    what screen does your cd30 have with it pal? gid?

  8. #8
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    It is obvious, but the RGB cable is only needed for colour screen (CID)...not needed for GID.

    If you don't already have GID, then you may need to link a couple of pins in the 32 pin connector plug.

    The GID requires 2 x red (+12 volts) and 2 x brown (chassis) for it to work fully.

    If you have TID or BID, then they sometimes only have one of each. (not a major task to sort out).

    TomTom aerial block comes with the wrong connector...
    I put a fakra plug on a Tom Tom aerial, and it works fine in my cavalier..I use it daily when I go out on "visits".

    Fitting the aerial block is tricky to say the least...I don't have a mid-dash speaker nor a sun-sensor in the wife's vectra, and it was a very tight squeeze to get ebay sourced block between the air trunking behind the display, to where it came out under the mid-speaker grill in the dash.

    If you have this speaker or a sun-sensor, then you will need to find an alternative location.
    Last edited by Robsey; 10th March 2010 at 23:14.

  9. #9
    Regular Member Steven T Davies-Moss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    shropshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by frasedeb View Post
    what screen does your cd30 have with it pal? gid?
    Mine's the small screen wiv two buttons underneath it

  10. #10
    Regular Member Steven T Davies-Moss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    shropshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    So whats this TID, BID & GID stand for ??

    i know they are screens but means nothin to me yet

    the one i currently have is small wiv 2 buttons under the screen

    And the one im getting i know is a CID full colour full size screen

    will i need to adjust + / - wires as below ?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Upgrade CD30 to CD70 or go for aftermarket?
    By saggybelly in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 25th February 2013, 19:51
  2. Retro fitting cd70 nav
    By family guy in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 4th October 2010, 21:21
  3. fitting cd70 into cd30 place
    By bigpaw35 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 31st August 2009, 15:19

Visitors found this page by searching for:

cd70 rgb cable

cd70 pins

cd70 navi gps

upgrade from cd30 to cd70

gm opel cd70l

opel cd 70

cd70 back

cd drive for cd70

vectra cd30 to cd70

upgrade cd30 to cd70

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •