User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: sky broadband help

  1. #1
    Regular Member KEV E's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Wednesfield,Wolverhampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default sky broadband help

    Hi i have sky broadband and i have upgraded to 20 meg from the free 2 meg but i did a speed test and i am only getting 300k,at first i thought it was because we was on the free service but after upgrading i realise thats not the case.

    I know the phone line where i live has been here for a good 30+ years and its never been changed.

    Do you think thats the problem? and if so how much is it gonna cost for a new one?.
    Thanks Kev

  2. #2
    Administrator Big-Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Home or in the Gym
    Problems Posted
    1
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    88 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Audi Q7

    Trim : S-Line Plus 245

    Engine : 3.0 TDV6

    Year : 2013

    Mileage : 3023

    Default

    You may have to wait for your line to be optimised by the exchange, which can take upto 10days.. did you do a speed test before you upgraded?

  3. #3
    VIP-Member happypostie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Slough
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    60 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : insignia vxr

    Trim : vxr

    Engine : 2.8 turbo

    Year : 61

    Mileage : 38000

    Default

    im on sky to m8and i pay for the same but only get about 1 mb as that is all the line will hold . dont have any problems with it unless im downloading some thing then it just takes longer. khalid

  4. #4
    Ex Vec-C Admin ed taylor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Looking Through a Camera Lens.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 04

    Mileage : 000

    Default

    Thing is they could offer a 1 million mb speed. But if your phone line is only capable of "say" 2mb. Then all the will in the world wont help. All you can get is what the phone line can handle "2mb".

  5. #5
    Ex Vec-C Admin Deztroyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    WGAF#5
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    also depends on how far you live from the exhange - the further away = more loss and connections -

    0-Large smile ......every time it's driven

  6. #6
    Regular Member KEV E's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Wednesfield,Wolverhampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big-Pete View Post
    You may have to wait for your line to be optimised by the exchange, which can take upto 10days.. did you do a speed test before you upgraded?
    i waited three weeks because my son was born and he spent 3 weeks in neo-natal
    Last edited by KEV E; 7th March 2010 at 20:59.

  7. #7
    Regular Member KEV E's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Wednesfield,Wolverhampton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deztroyer View Post
    also depends on how far you live from the exhange - the further away = more loss and connections -
    i know but 300k thats its getting silly its driving me mad now cant even play my 360 live because of the lag.

  8. #8
    Administrator Big-Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Home or in the Gym
    Problems Posted
    1
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    88 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Audi Q7

    Trim : S-Line Plus 245

    Engine : 3.0 TDV6

    Year : 2013

    Mileage : 3023

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KEV E View Post
    i waited three weeks because my son was born and he spent 3 weeks in neo-natal
    It wont be that then..
    TBH I moved from sky because we never got above 500k on an 8mb line with them in 2yrs, now with BT (who's network SKY's BB is run on) and we get 7.5mb, you might want to check all adsl filters, and if possible change them incase one is faulty, or look at buying an anti interference i plate to replace your main BT socket..

    LINKY

  9. #9
    Regular Member 67688c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    In UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big-Pete View Post
    It wont be that then..
    TBH I moved from sky because we never got above 500k on an 8mb line with them in 2yrs, now with BT (who's network SKY's BB is run on) and we get 7.5mb, you might want to check all adsl filters, and if possible change them incase one is faulty, or look at buying an anti interference i plate to replace your main BT socket..

    LINKY
    Just been having aread up on this I-plate, which I dont have on my setup, I notice they only came out in 2008.

    I'm out in the sticks and I'm wondering if getting one of these will improve my own connection. ?

    Anybody tried these I-plates ?

  10. #10
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KEV E View Post
    i know but 300k thats its getting silly its driving me mad now cant even play my 360 live because of the lag.
    That can't be it as i used to play mine on a 1mb connection with no problems.
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Sky Broadband.
    By MLC in forum General Chat
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 25th January 2009, 20:49
  2. Sky broadband
    By neilshaw1980 in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 22nd December 2008, 12:07
  3. BT Broadband
    By glenboy in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 17th July 2008, 15:38
  4. Sky Broadband
    By MLC in forum General Chat
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 5th June 2008, 17:47
  5. broadband
    By neverlandandy in forum General Chat
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 15th February 2008, 00:05

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •