User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Display Change.

  1. #1
    Regular Member g33had's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Display Change.

    Hi all,

    I know this is my first post so i want to say helllloo!!

    I own a Z22SE 2.2 Vectra C but it is only an LS so still contemplating selling it or keeping it and just modifying it to be a VXR lookalike with the alloys/bumpers/lights etc etc.

    My question is which i am sure alot of other peeps would like to know aswell is..
    My center display is just a 2 line one with 2 buttons underneath and i would like to convert it to a large screen like in the SRI's or if possible go the whole way for a nice colour multimedia one.

    Is any of this possible? and would i have the wiring there for it?
    Would i need the car to be plugged in to get it to display anything? etc etc.

    All the usual questions really.

    I hope this is possible and then i might just keep it hehehe!

    Hope this discussion helps others too.

  2. #2
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    There is a thread by BigMac called

    How 2 TID to GID...
    This will tell you exactly how to go about it.
    Link - http://www.vectra-c.com/forum/showthread.php?t=70769

    If you want sat nav and all that, then there is another How 2 for retro fitting an NCDC2013...
    Link - http://www.vectra-c.com/forum/showthread.php?t=94808

    Hope that helps
    Last edited by Robsey; 6th March 2010 at 02:09.

  3. #3
    Regular Member g33had's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Wow, that was quick!
    Thanks for the reply bud.

    I'm also running an aftermarket head-unit so would just love the normal display with MPG, range etc etc.
    Is this possible just with a display change and maybe a tech2 plugin?

    BTW sorry i think this is possibly in the wrong category, soz admin!
    Last edited by g33had; 6th March 2010 at 02:25.

  4. #4
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    Nope you are in the correct section "Electrical and ICE".

    Okay for the display, just follow Bigmac's thread (TID to GID).

    You will also need to get a few other bits as follows:-
    1) Wheel controls conversion lead (specific to the make of your intended radio)
    2) Facia plate adapter (double din or single din as necessary)
    3) Aftermarket radio cage (again double din or single din as required)

    If you are running the screen without a radio, you will need to ensure that you have the stalk with the computer switches on...to clear messages etc.

    Finally, if you are new to Vauxhalls, you wil need to be aware of the wires being slightly odd when it comes to permanent live and ignition live...usually have to swap these round to get the radio working properly without losing it's memories / presets.

    Just noticed that you are already running this radio, therefore just follow Bigmac's thread.

  5. #5
    Regular Member g33had's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Ah ok thank you buddy.
    I am quite new to Vauxhalls, had many Golf's before. Acquired and Vectra C 52 plate Z22SE and debating whether to sell or keep, got it cheaper than its worth as i just needed to change the alternator but i'm really starting to like it. It's just the LS so needs alloys, lights etc etc. But a bit of love and i could love it!

    Looks like i just need to acquire... GID Screen, control stalk and possibly and adapter for my head-unit for the steering wheel controls.

    Thank you for all your help.

  6. #6
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    Make sure you get a GID screen with one of the four codes that the How 2 thread recommends as these will definately work in your car.

    I believe the steering wheel adapter lead is only about £16 from places like Halfords.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Can I change amber display to colour one?
    By chickenwing in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 8th July 2012, 02:31
  2. Change display CD70
    By FLi in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th October 2007, 18:10
  3. Change vauxhall display
    By jamesr in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 4th April 2007, 16:22

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •