User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Fitting a Tuning Box

  1. #1
    Regular Member Marky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    North West
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Fitting a Tuning Box

    I want to get a tuning box for my 1.9 CDTi (120).
    But first I would like to know how to fit it.
    Think I will be going for a Digital box.

    Ive heard its a bit tricky on the 120s??

    Anyone got any pics??

    Thanks,

    Mark

  2. #2
    Regular Member jonno_07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    beverley
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    it is a bit tricky the first time yu do it but it gets easier.

    pics to follow!

  3. #3
    Regular Member jonno_07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    beverley
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default



    take off top cover (when engine is cold! i burnt myself) disconect the ecu wire and put the new wire in! its quite fiddly but once you've done it once it gets easier!

  4. #4
    Regular Member The Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    'Norf Yorks.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Disconnect the plug going onto the common rail (long silver cylinder) and then plug the loom in.

    Don't disconnect the ECU!!!

  5. #5
    Regular Member jonno_07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    beverley
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    thanks cdti thinkng of too many things at once!

    sorry marky!
    Last edited by jonno_07; 30th June 2006 at 17:25.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Marky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    North West
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Soooo is the cable circled the ECU cable or the Common rail cable??

    I know I should get instructions when I finally plump for a box. I am just too impatient!

  7. #7
    Regular Member jonno_07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    beverley
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    its the common rail picture just me sayin the wrong thing! the connection is just under where the two pipes in the pic meet!

    pm sent.

  8. #8
    Regular Member Marky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    North West
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Should be able to find the plug for the common rail now, Thanks.

    But I now need to find a Switched Ignition 12V power source in the engine bay for my Tuning box. Anyone know where is best to get this from??

    Heres the box I bought. £150 from mrhoot on eBay. Bargain!!!
    [IMG]http://www.vectra-c.com/forum/upload...20Box%20SM.JPG[/IMG]

  9. #9
    Regular Member The Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    'Norf Yorks.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You sure it is switched? I fitted one of those VERY simular to a VW and it wanted permanant live.

    Put it this way, fitted 8 months ago and wired to permanant live and no flat batteries. I would of thought permanant live would be fine

  10. #10
    Regular Member Marky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    North West
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You can have it permanent or switched.

    If its switched you get these cool features.
    1). The box can set itself to only work after a preset time (ie when the engine is up to temperature).
    2). You can use switching the igintion on/off for a preset number of seconds to start the box, so only people who know the ignition sequence can use the extra power every one runs the car as standard.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Problem fitting tuning box
    By 2.2 oil burner in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 5th December 2010, 20:15
  2. Vectra tuning box fitting help
    By shug176 in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 20th September 2010, 02:25
  3. Problems fitting a tuning box to the 120.
    By felixx in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19th July 2010, 21:05
  4. Fitting Eco Green Tuning Box
    By RMJonny in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th July 2010, 11:15
  5. Fitting tuning box for 120 cdti
    By Rick106 in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27th March 2006, 17:47

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •