User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Switched live for aftermarket stereo

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Switched live for aftermarket stereo

    I fitted my Alpine 9861ri today and have found the audioleads wiring doesn't have a switched live. The stereo just stays on when the ignition is turned off and key removed...

    Is there any way to get the stereo working the way the standard fit units do? (On and off with ignition and also being able to turn on when the key is out).

  2. #2
    Ex-Staff Full Member John LE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Forfar, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Facelift Insignia/Corsa D

    Trim : LE/VXR

    Engine : 2.0 cdti/1.6 Turbo

    Year : 13/07

    Default

    You need to swap the red/yellow wire in the stereos wiring loom

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by john.robertson2 View Post
    You need to swap the red/yellow wire in the stereos wiring loom
    I have done. Didn't do a thing.

    I'm sure I remember there not being a switched live on the 'C' when using adapter leads for aftermarket stereos.

  4. #4
    Regular Member benny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    dudley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i think on the later full canbus cars you need a converter ...but im not shure ...i konw when the corsa d has the factory fit sat nav unit (aftermarket one) they use a canbus adapter the give it a live and switch feed ..these have been faulty from the factory and we have been changeing a few .

  5. #5
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    You need to take your switched live from the lighter socket.

    It will have 3 wires...
    black = ignition live
    brown= ground
    grey/yellow = illumination.

  6. #6
    Ex-Staff Full Member John LE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Forfar, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Facelift Insignia/Corsa D

    Trim : LE/VXR

    Engine : 2.0 cdti/1.6 Turbo

    Year : 13/07

    Default

    According to his profile its an 03 2.2dti elite which shouldn't need the cig lighter feed?

    Well mine didn't anyway

  7. #7
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    I agree,
    Pre October 2004 cars should have a switched live in the main 16 pin ISO connector block!!

    Be careful though, as there are two blacks...
    One for ignition live, and one for Telemute function.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Robsey View Post
    You need to take your switched live from the lighter socket.

    It will have 3 wires...
    black = ignition live
    brown= ground
    grey/yellow = illumination.
    Cheers, I'll check it out tomorrow.

    Quote Originally Posted by john.robertson2 View Post
    According to his profile its an 03 2.2dti elite which shouldn't need the cig lighter feed?

    Well mine didn't anyway
    How so? I haven't checked anything with an electrical tester yet. Are you saying there should be a switched live because its an Elite?

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Robsey View Post
    I agree,
    Pre October 2004 cars should have a switched live in the main 16 pin ISO connector block!!

    Be careful though, as there are two blacks...
    One for ignition live, and one for Telemute function.
    Ahh, I see. The Audioleads adapter only has two 8 pin ISO plugs. It doesn't use the larger connector with the two corresponding connectors attached on the cars loom.

    I'll have a better look tomorrow. Thanks.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Another thing...I've noticed the dimmer function isn't working either, lol.

    I'll get to grips with the 'C's ways yet.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Wot fuses for a live qwn u turn key and a switched live
    By tomo41 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th June 2011, 15:15
  2. Were to take a switched live and a live from for a boost gauge
    By tomo41 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 22nd May 2011, 15:02
  3. Stereo switched live
    By andyfeeny in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd August 2010, 12:31
  4. What colour is the switched live to the headunit?
    By Ziggy in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th September 2009, 21:45
  5. Parrot 3200 - Switched Live?
    By splund in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 6th July 2008, 10:08

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c ignition live

vectra c position 1 live

vectra c switched live

https:www.vectra-c.comforumshowthread.php103057-Switched-live-for-aftermarket-stereo

Vectra c 03 dti elite stereo

aftermarket stereo not turning off Vectra C

vauxhall insignia stereo ignition wite

where is the ignition live on a vectra for a stereo

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •