User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Standard Stereo replacement

  1. #1
    Regular Member RobW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Tain - Easter Ross
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Standard Stereo replacement

    Apologies for another clutter thread...

    Removed the standard HU to put a Kenwood BT unit in and although its a good unit, would it ever be possible to put a standard stereo back in? The one I took out is now lost in the void somewhere and it was not tech2'd out.

  2. #2
    Admin & Merchandise Manager bigmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Devon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    56 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : insignia

    Trim : irmscher

    Engine : 2.0 cdti

    Year : 2009

    Default

    Take it you had a CD30 ? if so you would need one thats been tech2'd out then pair it to your GID/TID using your imob code HTH

    Irmscher Insignia CDTI 130

    MOD'S...Irmscher front spoiler, Irmscher mats, Irmscher door pins, Irmscher rear spoiler, Irmscher grille, Irmscher skirt & exhausts,Irmscher Roof spoiler MOD'S TO COME..Side skirts,Wheels

  3. #3
    Regular Member IrishWhiskeyChaser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ireland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Not sure what you mean by lost in the void? But the original unit should go back in seamlessly and there should be no Tech2 issues as it is paired with the car. It's just if you get a unit that is not paired with your car that you will have issues afaik. COuld be wrong but that's how I read it.

    What model Kenwood did you get and are you upgrading your speakers?

    Doing the same myself waiting to put in a Kenwood KDC-BT6544U and praying that it will improve the sound drastically before I go looking at speakers?

    My original stereo was a CD30 which to me sounds like the music is coming through a packet of crisps.

  4. #4
    Regular Member RobW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Tain - Easter Ross
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Sorry, a Sony unit. Model MEX-BT2700 I think.

    The original CD30 was binned because it was faulty but was not tech2'd out.

    The improvement in sound quality is massive, I used to be into big stereo installs with uprated speakers etc but never have it loud enough now so standard speakers are just fine, they handle the power OK.

    With the old unit being gone for good, is there a way another would work?

  5. #5
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    To clarify,

    If you do revert to standard - refit a CD30.

    You will need to get a radio that has been tech 2 programmed so that it is divorced / returned to safe mode.

    Then return all the cabling changes back to standard.

    And then Tech 2 program the radio into the car (marry it to the screen)...
    You would need your existing 4 digit car audio pass code for this during programming. (or the code that the screen was last programmed with !!)

  6. #6
    Regular Member IrishWhiskeyChaser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ireland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RobW View Post
    The improvement in sound quality is massive, I used to be into big stereo installs with uprated speakers etc but never have it loud enough now so standard speakers are just fine, they handle the power OK.
    Good to hear as I am waiting for my new HU and really looking forward to some half decent sounds. Will tackle speaker upgrade down the line when I get bored of the initial inprovement in sound quality.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. vectra dab stereo.... is it better than standard?
    By renton608 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 28th February 2011, 22:02
  2. fitting sub/amp with standard stereo
    By bigben in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11th March 2009, 14:03
  3. Does your standard stereo.....
    By cpt slow in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 1st February 2009, 15:16
  4. standard stereo
    By swalk999 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd January 2007, 16:22

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •