User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 58

Thread: replace my CD30 with CD40?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Alps
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default replace my CD30 with CD40?

    Hi,

    I'm a vectra virgin so be gentle

    Seriously we only got our Vectra C a 6 months ago but already the lack of support for MP3 CDs is beginning to chafe. So I'm thinking about replacing the CD30.

    1. Do we have a GID or TID?


    2. Would a CD40 play MP3 CDs?

    3. Would a CD40 be compatible with this type of display?

    4. Would a CD40 be fully compatible with the rest of our Vectra? e.g. steering commands, trip computer, etc.

    5. Would a CD40 offer a AUX or Line-In?

    6. Is a CDC40 the same as a CD40?
    http://cgi.ebay.fr/Radio-Blaupunkt-O...item23050fc054

    7. Can I simply pull out the CD30 and plu-in the CD40? Or do I need to visit a VX dealer for a Tech2? Looked in the How2 section but couldn't find anything

    Sorry to ask so many questions. Despite spending 3 hours reading up about this and other modifications (air box + K&R filter), I couldn't find an exact answer. Don't tell the missus but this is all much more interesting than plaster work

  2. #2
    Moderator & Events Assistant paulhb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wondering lonely as a cloud
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by domokun View Post
    Hi,

    I'm a vectra virgin so be gentle

    Seriously we only got our Vectra C a 6 months ago but already the lack of support for MP3 CDs is beginning to chafe. So I'm thinking about replacing the CD30.

    1. Do we have a GID or TID?


    2. Would a CD40 play MP3 CDs?

    3. Would a CD40 be compatible with this type of display?

    4. Would a CD40 be fully compatible with the rest of our Vectra? e.g. steering commands, trip computer, etc.

    5. Would a CD40 offer a AUX or Line-In?

    6. Is a CDC40 the same as a CD40?
    http://cgi.ebay.fr/Radio-Blaupunkt-O...item23050fc054

    7. Can I simply pull out the CD30 and plu-in the CD40? Or do I need to visit a VX dealer for a Tech2? Looked in the How2 section but couldn't find anything

    Sorry to ask so many questions. Despite spending 3 hours reading up about this and other modifications (air box + K&R filter), I couldn't find an exact answer. Don't tell the missus but this is all much more interesting than plaster work
    1. The display you have is a BID it isn't either the GID or CID and is as far as I know not compatable with the CDC40.
    2. Mine is a CDC40 and it doesn't play MP3 the very latest ones apparently do but not the vast majority of them.
    3. I don't the display is compatable
    4. Yes it is fully compatable
    5. Yes it has an aux in mine is used for the factory bluetooth
    6. Yes they are the same thing
    7. The CDC range are Tech 2 unless you buy a paired system i.e. the radio and display from the same car.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    North East
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    There is a cd30 mp3 eg this
    Last edited by rockh; 30th January 2010 at 16:35. Reason: speeling

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Norwich
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    my cdc 40 opera doesn't have an aux in much to the kids annoyance. I think it because its got DAB instead. It doesn't play MP3's either (56 2.2 direct design)

    R.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Alps
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Oh dear it doesn't look very promising:

    1. apparently CD40 isn't certain of playing MP3 CDs (prolly only recent models)
    2. even if I got hold of a recent CD40, our BID display wouldn't be compatible with it

    So I guess we'd either have to:
    a. find a CD40 with a compatible display (GID?)
    b. buy a CD30 MP3 but it seems rather expensive (cost & effort) simply to play MP3 CDs (CD30 currently works fine otherwise)

    So I guess my questions are now:

    1. Does a CD30 MP3 have a Aux input? (3.5mm jack) easier to justify
    2. If I replaced my CD30 with a CD30 MP3, I'd still have to sync it with the screen via a visit to Tech2?
    3. Roughly how much would a Tech 2 visit cost?
    4. Can I swap a faceplate? e.g. ours is a dark metallic grey and I've spotted a good deal but which is silver:
    http://cgi.ebay.fr/Blaupunkt-Radio-O...item255880e285

    I'm amazed at such quick responses!

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    North East
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Later cd30's have the facility for an aux in (you need some extra bits wiring as the car probably won't have them).
    Though I thought the EU version had the aux input a while before the UK.

    You'll need to visit the dealer to get the unit paired. Cost in the UK is about £80.

    It is probably quite possible to replace the front.

    The cheapest option would be an FM modulator you would need a couple of aerial adaptors.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Alps
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Rockh: thanks for the suggestion on the FM modulator but IMHO the sound quality they offer is usually rather pants, not to mention ungainly (wires & boxes floating around in the cockpit).

    Is there any way that I can check if my CD30 has Aux inputs? (apart from physically pulling it out). I've noticed in the Audio menu a reference to "Ext".

    Just got off the phone to a local dealership and a Tech2 visit will set me back €60. That's less than I feared but combined with the price of a new unit, it starts to add up. Unless I can justify it...

    Apart from syncing new radios to displays, what is the point of a Tech2? Does it allow the garage to download a report from the onboard computer? (ECU)
    Could this report help identify anticipate mechanical problems?
    Update firmware for my poor CD30?

  8. #8
    Admin & Merchandise Manager bigmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Devon
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Buy andy's CD70 in parts for sale job done

    Irmscher Insignia CDTI 130

    MOD'S...Irmscher front spoiler, Irmscher mats, Irmscher door pins, Irmscher rear spoiler, Irmscher grille, Irmscher skirt & exhausts,Irmscher Roof spoiler MOD'S TO COME..Side skirts,Wheels

  9. #9
    Regular Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Tech 2 will marry up the screen and the radio to your car.

    Yes Tech 2 can also diagnose problems or DTC's as they are referred to.

    Tech 2 is also used for updating software / firmware for all the cars systems, whether that is for the radio / display or for ECU functions, callibrations, emission controls etc.

    Don't be surprised though if your dealer is clueless about how to use tech 2...most of them have less knowledge about vauxhall cars, than my 5 yr old niece.

  10. #10
    Full Member merikiito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Northampton
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    CD30 does not have an aux inputs

    Ext is for phone
    Lois Griffin: Peter! You're bribing your daughter with a car?
    Peter Griffin: Ah, c'mon, Lois, isn't 'bribe' just another word for 'love'?

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. CD30 To CD40
    By Chris SRi in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 31st October 2012, 22:06
  2. upgrading from cd30 to cd40
    By Djvec128 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th May 2012, 20:56
  3. cd30 to cd40
    By mrk in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2nd June 2011, 16:09
  4. CD30 - CD40 Dab Help
    By johnny1983 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17th April 2010, 00:38

Visitors found this page by searching for:

cd40 bid on zafira

vauxhall cd40

vectra cd30

vectra gid vs bid display

vauxhall corsa CD40

swap cd30 mp3 eeprom to cd40

fitting cdc40 into pre facelift vectra

CD40 usv vectra c

cd30vs cd40 vs cd50

will cd40 work in a vectra with cd30 in it

vectra c cd30 aux

cd30 на cd40

replace vauxhall meriva cd 30 mp3

what is the difference between the vauxhall cd30 and cd40 cd player

BLAUPUNKT CD30

cd40 in corsa c

vectra c cd40

cd 40 usb replacement with display

can i replace my corsa cd30 with cd30 aux

fitting a cdc40 in place of cd30 without dab

replace cd30 with cd40

change cd30 foe cd40

firmware cd30

cd30 aerial compatible for cd 40

cd30 mp3 to cd40

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •