User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: lambda sensor problem

  1. #1
    Regular Member dan1983's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North London
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default lambda sensor problem

    Hi just wondering if this has happened to anyone else, bought my car few years ago and did the air box mod, as soon as i did this the emissions light came on, i just ignored it until about 2 months ago when i wanted to sell the car, i had the fault code read and it came up with lambda sensor, so i changed the first one, light still came on, then i changed the second one but when i ordered the second one from ebay with the same part number it came with a shorter lead but wire colours matched up so i cut the old coneector and used that to make it longer, but light is still on, and fault code is still lambda sensor bank 2.
    Anyone got any ideas as i really need to sell the car.

  2. #2
    Regular Member dan1983's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North London
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    oh by the way the car is the 2.0t edition 100

  3. #3
    Regular Member Ste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    ..... Driving the Jaguar XF
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You don't have a bank 2.


    Are you sure it's not bank one sensor 2?

  4. #4
    Regular Member dan1983's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North London
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    yeah sorry it is

  5. #5
    Regular Member Ste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    ..... Driving the Jaguar XF
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    What fault code did you get?

    The second O2 sensor is to check if the catalyst is working.

  6. #6
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It could be the maf putting in too much air so the lambada sensor shows a fault with the emissions being wrong, you need to read inbetween the lines when fault finding.
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  7. #7
    Regular Member dan1983's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North London
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi big sig, sorry i dont understand, when i did the air box mod i took the mass sensor plug out, to do the mod, put it all back and thats when it started, since then i have unplugged it and plugged it back in but nothing

  8. #8
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I am saying that it may not be the lambada sensor thats wrong, it could be doing its job as its seeing the wrong emmisions due to a fault somewhere else, maybe the maf or an air leak somewhere.
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  9. #9
    Regular Member dan1983's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North London
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    hi what does the maf do and are they expensive , it sounds like it could be the maf as it happened straight after doing the air box mod, which allows more air in. the fault code is P0140.

  10. #10
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    MAF= mass air flow. You said you unplugged it, is it back in correctly?
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Signum turbo lambda sensor problem
    By Rasher in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 79
    Last Post: 25th May 2012, 19:59
  2. lambda sensor
    By wcr in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th November 2010, 00:20
  3. Lambda sensor
    By vectra 120 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th September 2010, 23:31
  4. Lambda Sensor
    By Sambor in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th June 2010, 19:43
  5. Lambda sensor - Z32SE - where is bank 1, sensor 1?
    By Kev_A in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 23rd February 2008, 14:46

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •