User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Any Sky Installers lurking about?

  1. #1
    Regular Member RobW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Tain - Easter Ross
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Any Sky Installers lurking about?

    Ordered Sky HD and am getting it installed tomorrow but am only getting one input from my current Sky+ box. This only started a day or so ago and have tried fiddling with the cable, tried putting the cable into another outlet on the LNB, reset the Sky+ box but cannot get the second signal.

    I am hoping the installer will be able to source the problem tomorrow, unless Sky do something to block the signal before HD is installed?

    Basically, question is, when upgrading from Sky+ to HD, would I get a new LNB or is the installation just swapping the boxes about?

  2. #2
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    lincoln
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Just swap the box mate, i would ring sky, and tell the installer tomorrow.

  3. #3
    Ex Vec-C Admin Deztroyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    WGAF#5
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    as andy said - they only fit a new black box - nothing on the lnb unless you got for multiroom and need a quad or and octo block fitting

    0-Large smile ......every time it's driven

  4. #4
    Regular Member solorider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    swindon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : Design

    Engine : 1.9 120bhp

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 139,600

    Default

    when i had my sky hd fitted the engineer has to check the dish,if it is not working he has to replace what is needed as the dish and lnb is also part of the guarantee

  5. #5
    Regular Member braveheart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Dunno if you got this installed yet or not but the installer is coming out to do a full standard install for you, which includes a new dish, LNB and all cabling if required. You are tying yourself in for 12 months here so there is no option for them, they need to install it properly otherwise the job will be cancelled.

  6. #6
    Regular Member RobW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Tain - Easter Ross
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    So I should have got a new dish and LNB?

  7. #7
    Regular Member braveheart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Only if it was required, there's no point in replacing them if they work fine.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    They should fit a new LNB and wiring if its duff.

    They noticed mine was dodgy when I upgraded to HD from + and replaced the lot.

  9. #9
    Regular Member RobW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Tain - Easter Ross
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Our dish could not get a signal anywhere on the house so it was put on a tree in the garden with the wires running down near a hedge. My neighbour has managed to cut the wire 3 times so has quite a few joins. I did mention this to the installer on Thursday but all he did was replace the joints with F-type connectors, did OK but not as good as a new cable would have been.

    Replaced that cable on Friday with some coax my old man had but it is slightly thinner and has a braided core as opposed to a solid core on the original stuff. On the settings, one signal is good and one is minimal.

    Would the tree growing cause any problems and is cable with a solid core better?

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Kingston Upon Hull
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    My Mum & Dad had a new sky box etc fitted this week and they fitted every thing new dish the lot
    Jacko

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Any Roofers/Guttering Installers on Here?
    By Rebellion in forum General Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26th June 2012, 19:51
  2. clifford installers
    By rochey in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th December 2010, 23:32
  3. Bluetooth Installers
    By sshaikh in forum Insignia car chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30th September 2010, 14:03
  4. Satellite installers
    By Daywalker in forum General Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th November 2009, 17:36
  5. Audio installers in Bucks area
    By johnny kebab in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28th February 2008, 14:58

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •