User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Full Canbus radio question

  1. #1
    Regular Member StephNET's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wiltshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Question Full Canbus radio question

    I may be buying another vectra quite soon, as some guy appears to have written off my L reg mx-5 by reversing in to it in a tesco car park.

    Are the factory radios married just to the centre display or to the car as well? If I buy a vectra with a TID, I'd like to add the GID, and an aftermarket radio to the car. I've got a GID that wasn't divorced from the radio in my previous vectra.

    Presumably, if the display is only married to the radio, there is no reason it would go into "display safe" if the factory radio isn't fitted?

    Does this sound correct? Or is this an example of "Applying Top Gear Logic?"

    Now where's my hammer!

    Thanks

  2. #2
    On a Sabbatical daviek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    ayrshire scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I think the GID has to be divorced from the previous car and radio then you would be able to pair the GID with the radio that comes in your new vectra with a tech2 session . After that you remove the standard radio and fit your new aftermarket HU.

  3. #3
    Regular Member mhvcbv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    cambs
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    hi m8
    if you are after an aftermarket radio then you should get a half canbus display(gid) and stalk.
    they are from a 2002 to 2004.5 this way you will have a trip computer and check controls

    just have a look in the how2 section for tid to gid.
    http://www.vectra-c.com/forum/showthread.php?t=70769

  4. #4
    Regular Member StephNET's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wiltshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by daviek View Post
    I think the GID has to be divorced from the previous car and radio then you would be able to pair the GID with the radio that comes in your new vectra with a tech2 session . After that you remove the standard radio and fit your new aftermarket HU.
    Ah, I may well be stuffed using the display I already have then, as it wasn't divorced from the original radio because the radio was fubar.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Dartford
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    look up decode cd70 on ebasy - the seller that is called catessex or something along those lines claims to be able to get displays back to delivery mode as well as stereo's

  6. #6
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    Firstly do you still have the audio pass from the previous car from which the display came.

    If so, then it can be tech 2 reset with the original audio pass code and
    then reprogrammed into the new car via the new cars audio pass code.

    Other than this, try as suggested above, but do ensure that the ebay chap has a good feedback score!!

    Or try your local siemens VDO approved repairer...ask at your Vauxhall parts / service desks for who they use to do simple repairs!!
    I did, and found that my nearest was only 5 miles from me.
    (I live in Manchester though...)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. half canbus to full canbus
    By MORGIE8153 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 20th May 2017, 22:42
  2. Full Canbus - Half Canbus. Whats the difference?
    By M65 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 29th November 2013, 09:02
  3. For Sale: Full Canbus GID
    By MURDO in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st May 2012, 13:30
  4. full canbus help please
    By chowwie in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 1st March 2011, 00:50
  5. Half CANbus/Full CANbus?
    By Ross DTi 2.2 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12th September 2006, 20:13

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •