User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: which adapter

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Machynlleth
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default which adapter

    Ive bought a head unit of e-bay, double din dvd.

    What type of connector do you need for the back, which the original one slides into?

    went to halfords and bought one, but i don't think its the right one, since it only has 2 slots, and on the back of the original it has 3!


    Thanks

  2. #2
    Regular Member kman247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    milton keynes
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You shouldnt need an adaptor the car is an iso , so are most aftermarket stereo's.
    Just plug the iso connector of the new stereo into the 2 parts that fit.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Telford, Shropshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum

    Trim : Elegance

    Engine : 2.2 Direct

    Year : 2003

    Default

    I'm interested too as I want to swap out my original stereo with a single D Pioneer unit I have from my last car.

    So if I dont want to use the steering controls, i don't need any extra leads?

    I heard i need an aerial adaptor lead as well though as the VX lead is different isnt it?

  4. #4
    Regular Member kman247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    milton keynes
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Waterboy View Post
    I'm interested too as I want to swap out my original stereo with a single D Pioneer unit I have from my last car.

    So if I dont want to use the steering controls, i don't need any extra leads?

    I heard i need an aerial adaptor lead as well though as the VX lead is different isnt it?
    More than likely you will need an antenna adaptor , they are about a £1/£2 each

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Machynlleth
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kman247 View Post
    You shouldnt need an adaptor the car is an iso , so are most aftermarket stereo's.
    Just plug the iso connector of the new stereo into the 2 parts that fit.

    Yep they do have an iso on the back. The iso's on the back of the car there are 3, the adapter that i have only has 2!

    Surley someone has had the same problem? Absoulty spinning my head, i can get power to the unit, but it wont switch on / no picture. Starting to think i have a dodgy one.

  6. #6
    Regular Member SRimonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    wednesfield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    swap red an black cables? around,vx wired them backwards if i remember right,i`ve always had to swap the 2 power wires round
    Last edited by SRimonkey; 21st January 2010 at 18:22.

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Bristol
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    The 3rd iso plug is for the steering wheel controls. You can get aftermaket adapters for aftermarket radio's that will enable the steering wheels radio controls.


    If you buy a iso plug form halfords so you don't neet to alter original, you will need the change the red and yellow wires around so the radio will retain it memory.

  8. #8
    Regular Member SRimonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    wednesfield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    could be red an yellow can`t remember colours been ages but its definatley the ignition live and permanent live wires that ya swap

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Machynlleth
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SRimonkey View Post
    could be red an yellow can`t remember colours been ages but its definatley the ignition live and permanent live wires that ya swap

    Oh right ok, i'll give that one a go, cheers mate.

    In the dark, you can see the power light on, and the other switches are all flickering. Would that be the cause of them being wired wrong?

  10. #10
    Regular Member SRimonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    wednesfield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    yup they ain`t wired wrong its just vx needs the wires swapping round for some reason they wired the colours the opposite way round,every vx i`ve fitted stereos into needed these wires swapped round off ign live and permanent live
    Last edited by SRimonkey; 21st January 2010 at 19:00.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. iso adapter
    By forde in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3rd April 2012, 07:59
  2. USB Adapter
    By chinarose87 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th March 2010, 01:36
  3. Kenwood head unit adapter to Connects2 CANBUS stalk adapter
    By paulw77 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th December 2009, 07:01
  4. cd 30 adapter
    By chrispatch88 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th July 2008, 21:38
  5. VDA Adapter
    By caravaner-tony in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th December 2007, 18:48

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c aerial adaptor

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •