User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: which adapter

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Machynlleth
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default which adapter

    Ive bought a head unit of e-bay, double din dvd.

    What type of connector do you need for the back, which the original one slides into?

    went to halfords and bought one, but i don't think its the right one, since it only has 2 slots, and on the back of the original it has 3!


    Thanks

  2. #2
    Regular Member kman247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    milton keynes
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You shouldnt need an adaptor the car is an iso , so are most aftermarket stereo's.
    Just plug the iso connector of the new stereo into the 2 parts that fit.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Telford, Shropshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I'm interested too as I want to swap out my original stereo with a single D Pioneer unit I have from my last car.

    So if I dont want to use the steering controls, i don't need any extra leads?

    I heard i need an aerial adaptor lead as well though as the VX lead is different isnt it?

  4. #4
    Regular Member kman247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    milton keynes
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Waterboy View Post
    I'm interested too as I want to swap out my original stereo with a single D Pioneer unit I have from my last car.

    So if I dont want to use the steering controls, i don't need any extra leads?

    I heard i need an aerial adaptor lead as well though as the VX lead is different isnt it?
    More than likely you will need an antenna adaptor , they are about a £1/£2 each

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Machynlleth
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kman247 View Post
    You shouldnt need an adaptor the car is an iso , so are most aftermarket stereo's.
    Just plug the iso connector of the new stereo into the 2 parts that fit.

    Yep they do have an iso on the back. The iso's on the back of the car there are 3, the adapter that i have only has 2!

    Surley someone has had the same problem? Absoulty spinning my head, i can get power to the unit, but it wont switch on / no picture. Starting to think i have a dodgy one.

  6. #6
    Regular Member SRimonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    wednesfield
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    swap red an black cables? around,vx wired them backwards if i remember right,i`ve always had to swap the 2 power wires round
    Last edited by SRimonkey; 21st January 2010 at 18:22.

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Bristol
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The 3rd iso plug is for the steering wheel controls. You can get aftermaket adapters for aftermarket radio's that will enable the steering wheels radio controls.


    If you buy a iso plug form halfords so you don't neet to alter original, you will need the change the red and yellow wires around so the radio will retain it memory.

  8. #8
    Regular Member SRimonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    wednesfield
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    could be red an yellow can`t remember colours been ages but its definatley the ignition live and permanent live wires that ya swap

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Machynlleth
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SRimonkey View Post
    could be red an yellow can`t remember colours been ages but its definatley the ignition live and permanent live wires that ya swap

    Oh right ok, i'll give that one a go, cheers mate.

    In the dark, you can see the power light on, and the other switches are all flickering. Would that be the cause of them being wired wrong?

  10. #10
    Regular Member SRimonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    wednesfield
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    yup they ain`t wired wrong its just vx needs the wires swapping round for some reason they wired the colours the opposite way round,every vx i`ve fitted stereos into needed these wires swapped round off ign live and permanent live
    Last edited by SRimonkey; 21st January 2010 at 19:00.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. iso adapter
    By forde in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3rd April 2012, 07:59
  2. USB Adapter
    By chinarose87 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th March 2010, 01:36
  3. Kenwood head unit adapter to Connects2 CANBUS stalk adapter
    By paulw77 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th December 2009, 07:01
  4. cd 30 adapter
    By chrispatch88 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th July 2008, 21:38
  5. VDA Adapter
    By caravaner-tony in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th December 2007, 18:48

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c aerial adaptor

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •